We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“above expectation.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Truman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Truman Hotel
Ranked #21 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“above expectation.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My boyfriend and I had decided to visit the keys while in Florida and had only booked one night at a hotel. We decided last minute we wanted to stay another night and went on a search to find another hotel because the one we had the first night was not great. We were walking by the truman hotel and went in and asked if they had rooms available. Keep in mind this was during Fantasy Fest. The woman at the desk ( she was amazing and so sweet) said she would see what she could do and get back to us......translation we wouldn't hear from her or at least that is what we thought. Nope!! She called an hour later saying she had a room!! That is amazing service. The grounds and pool were amazing. It's like a little oasis of it's own inside the gates to the hotel. The rooms are that of a boutique hotel with amazing bathrooms and the most comfortable beds you could wish for!! We loved everything about this place and are going back in a few weeks!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindymarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    277
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
307
391
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is one of my favorite hotels that I've ever stayed at. The rooms are great, pool is awesome, and feels secluded in the bustling Key West. It's within walking distance of everything and is only a block from the heart of the city: Duval Street. I highly recommend it to anyone.. For families or romance. And the service was great, everyone was nice and happy to help.

Room Tip: Every room is a great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prestonclark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to comment here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and we hope you can visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

good price $150/night, good pool, good bk'fast, nice staff. We did have a room
close to Truman ave and there was some road noise at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Truman Hotel is a gem. I was frantically trying to find a place last minute for my wife and I to spend our anniversary in Key West and at the last minute I discovered the Truman. This place is very very nice. We stayed in a smaller room with two doubles, a small fridge and a bathroom. The room was on the first floor and opened up to the pool. We were never disturbed by any noises and the window shades were great for getting some sleep without kids. The parking garage was a great feature in a town that is not car friendly. The floor was a nice wood of some sort. The shower in the bathroom was a very nice and spacious unit with some kind of neat wood tiles for the floor and multicolored tile on the walls. The beds were comfy and the maid service did a fine job every day. The pool area was very nice with a waterfall, soothing music in the back ground and water spouts along the edge to keep you cool during the hot summer. The hotel was modern and chique, very attractive to look at and the breakfast served was fine, too. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel was a very short walk to Duval Street and was very close to a CVS for any drinks and whatnots you may have needed but did not bring along. If you want a bigger breakfast than what was provided, there is a Denny's just down the street (@ Duval and Truman streets). I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jburf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We live in south Florida and were heading to Key West for a wedding. I use tripadvisor all the time and have always had a great experience when I follow their reviews. With b&b's, especially in Key West, I knew it was going to be hit or miss. We booked the hotel a few months before the wedding and I was surprised at how many places were already booked.
I was extremely impressed!! It was clean, beautiful, and seemed to be newly renovated. The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable, the pool was beautiful, and it's location was perfect!! The service was impeccable, the concierge was incredibly helpful, it was a working weekend for me and he was kind enough to allow me use of the fax machine and their was free internet in the room if you had a laptop. The breakfast was your basic continental, nothing special but very well done! Another cool bonus- the pool didn't really close...the lights went off at a certain hour but as long as you weren't obnoxious, nobody seemed to mind. The price was very fair for the amenities provided, many of my friends stayed other places, payed significantly more and their rooms weren't nearly as nice as ours. A++++ very well done!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyk522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

it has just been renovated...really nice rooms. The pool area is really nice like on the postcards. great for couples or family. Centrally located, close to shopping and walking distance to the harbour area. great vacation experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsnithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We love Nick too! Thanks for letting us know he's doing a great job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel has been beautifully built and decorated. The location is great, just off of the very busy and noisy Duval St. We could walk to everything, but relax at the end of the day in peace and quiet. We did find our room rather small, though, with two double beds. The chocolates and turn-down service is a nice touch. The pool area is absolutely gorgeous! Breakfast was just okay. The covered parking is a great idea (if you can snag a space). Loved our stay here - a little pricey on the weekends, though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loja63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#17 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Property: Truman Hotel
Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing