We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but noisy”
Review of New Orleans House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Orleans House
Ranked #52 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The location is great, and it is definitely party central for gay men. Had asked for a quieter room, as we had stayed there a number of years ago and had a room over the bar and the bed literally vibrated from the music which is cranked up until closing at 4am. The room we had this time around the back was only slightly quieter. The included breakfast was so pathetic that we opted to eat at a little place around the corner that had $4 breakfast specials. For the price, I expect a little more effort .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clrwtrjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansHouse, Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank for your taking the time to write a review.

While we strive to make sure that every guest has the room that best fits their needs, sometimes there are circumstances beyond our control that make the perfect room unavailable. The most common issue we run into is guests not booking early enough. If you have a particular request (quiet room, room with two beds, room with a kitchen) I suggest booking a room at least 2 months in advance (3 months during our high season of January - April). The earlier you book, the more likely it is that we can provide that perfect room for you.

Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the breakfast. Florida Law does not permit us to provide any foods that are not prepackaged and individually wrapped since we do not have a commercial kitchen. Nothing would please me more than to be able to provide a hot breakfast but we simply are not permitted. We can't even put out bread for toast unless the slices are wrapped individually due to the possibility of someone's hands contaminating the remainder of the bread.

We recently added fruit cups and upgraded our cereals to more "adult" versions such as Kashi, Granola, Smart Start, etc.

Please keep in mind that we are priced the lowest of all the male only properties in Key West and we have the best location. I know the rates may not seem low compared to other parts of the country, but we are the best value even though we have a prime location. Even with our rates the lowest, we still provide free cover both at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801 across the street, continental breakfast and a free happy hour from 5:00 PM - 6:30 each evening. No other resort offers free cover, and not all of the resorts have a free breakfast.

I hope this helps to clarify some of your issues. We want every guest to be delighted with their stay and we are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that our guests have the best time possible in Key West.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 243 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on feb 15th-16th. We found it extremely expensive for the quality of the room we had. It's old ( the toilet clogged twice, the refrigerator was as noisy as the bar downstairs) and not so clean( ceiling fans were beyond dusty!). Their "continental breakfast" is basically empty food with a volume!

You can't be a light sleeper because of the noise from the bar downstair ( don't matter you were are in the hotel) is EXTREMELY loud between 10PM and 4AM, not mentioning the constant pulsing, throbbing noise in the entire room.

However, the staff was very nice and friendly.
We will not go there again, we'd rather sleep outside, at least it's cheaper!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

I am so sorry you didn't have the best experience. I know we spoke at check out but I would like to respond to your issues again here.

I would love to serve a hot breakfast but unfortunately, we are limited by Florida law as we have no place to put a commercial kitchen that would be required to have fresh foods. We are restricted to individually wrapped single serve items. I can't even put out a loaf of bread since due to the law as there is no way to protect it from people cross contaminating it. We do provide a large selection of healthy and sweetened cereals, two types of bagels, sweet pastries, yogurt, fruit cups and we even have Key West grown bananas when they are in season (they are not right now.) Many properties in town provide no breakfast whatsoever even though their rates are higher than ours.

As one added note, we have a restaurant right around the corner that has a $4 hot breakfast available for our guests. We would have been happy to recommend that had you mentioned this before check out.

There was an issue with the cleanliness in your room. I went in after you checked out and I agree it was not up to our standards. There were 3 items of trash behind the nightstand and the fan was dusty. The rest of the room was fine but those items should not have been missed. We have been extremely busy and the housekeeper rushed through your room. That is not acceptable. The housekeeper that serviced your room is no longer with us. I know this offers little consolation to you now but the matter has been addressed. I wish you had commented to us while you were staying here and we would have taken care of the matter immediately. There is nothing I can do to resolve a problem if the first indication we receive is as you are checking out.

Regarding noise, our advertising is clear that we are connected to a very popular nightclub. We also suggest that if people would like a quieter room that they can let us know and we can place them in a area of the hotel that is not as noisy. Perhaps when you booked the room, no other rooms were available? The earlier you make a reservation, the better the room selection will be.

Regarding the mechanical items that you mentioned, we have replaced some of our toilets with water saving toilets (which are actually required for all new hotels being built) and these are more susceptible to clogs. There is always someone available from 9AM - 4AM (when the office is closed, you can ask the manager on duty in the club for assistance as stated in the welcome book in each room) and each room has a plunger for those that do not wish to ask for assistance.

The refrigerator is a similar situation. Your room has a new energy efficient refrigerator and the compressors in these models run at a higher RPM than the old ones so they emit a higher pitch noise. Most people have the same noise at home but don't sleep in their kitchen so they don't notice it. Even though your refrigerator was on the other side of the room, it is in the same room you are sleeping in so unfortunately, you will hear it. Most guests prefer the convenience of having a refrigerator in the room so they accept the noise. We can always turn the refrigerator off if the noise is bothersome.

Since the only item within my control was the cleanliness, I did offer you a gift certificate for a future stay so that you can see a room in the condition that yours should have been. You refused and for that I am sorry. I don't want any guest to leave unhappy. I only wish you had brought these issues to our attention while you were still here so we could have corrected the ones that we could while you were still here.

I'm sorry you won't be staying with us but should you come to Key West again, please contact us and we would be happy to comp your cover charges at the club downstairs for the remainder of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want a short walk to all Key West has to offer, and even short walk home from the bars this is the place to stay on the island. Great staff, good gym, fun bar on site. The garden bar is a great time, you might see some things but you can always go to a different bar or back to your room. Great views from decks. Price is decent, can use a little sprucing up, but not downtrodden by any means. Can't even imagine what this place goes through in the busy times so all in all I felt it was a great hotel. Location alone blows everyone else out of water.

Room Tip: If you are going during busy season get a room towards the garden so you aren't on Duval Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really like this place. 2 thumbs up. Everyone is nice..excellent location. .. Key West is great any time of year. Lots of gay people... I am not but dont hold those who are from doing as they want.
It is right off duvall...right in the middle of everything. The bar can get crazy...so just go to oyher places and you will be ok.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank MarkS3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff are friendly.
Food is good.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. However, Sometimes the noise from the bar is disturbing.
Apart from all of these, it was great experience and was a lovely place to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westerntraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a great place to stay while visiting Key West for the first time. The staff were all very friendly. The location right on Duval was perfect, directly in the heart of Key West. The pool bar was a perfect setting. We will remember NYE on the balcony for a long time. This was our first time staying here and we booked for next year already. Thanks Joey & Neil for a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great time had by all...Moses is excellent bartender -- crazy funny, makes great drinks and keeps the crowd hopping. Room was clean, service was good and everyone there was friendly. First time staying here, but won't be the last.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afelts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#24 of 77 in Key West
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#53 of 77 in Key West
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#41 of 77 in Key West
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans House

Address: 724 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7463
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $207 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Orleans House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all male guesthouse on Duval Street. Part of the Bourbon Street Pub complex. Free breakfast, free happy hour, free gym, free wifi, free cover at the Bourbon Street Pub and the 801. Stay where you play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orleans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orleans House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing