We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
153
48
24
10
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
48
24
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub happy hour marky mark stay someplace overlooking duval street pool bar gay resort trip to key west great room noh noise property loft jeff convenience refrigerator kw
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 251 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

The New Orleans House deserves an excellent overall rating for the character of all its staff members. I just completed a five night stay that ended December 12, 2011. I booked the trip the night before I departed on a wish to escape winter in Atlanta (yes, I know its not Maine or Alaska), and had grown weary of other top gay destinations of Miami and Ft. Lauderdale. I usually spend four or five days every month in the winter in south Florida, the last four years in Ft. Lauderdale, but the weather was always hit or miss. I had heard about Key West and its weather, and had made one other trip earlier this year and stayed at the Island House. Although nice, the Island House did not compare to the overall experience of the New Orleans House. The staff is on par with that of any Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or my favorite haunt, the Regent Seven Seas cruise line ships. Located right on Duval Street, it is hands down the best location for anyone wanting to walk the most famous street to shop, eat, or just meet some incredible people from all over the world, all right outside your front door. The property itself has clean rooms, the decor in keeping with the Key West of yesteryear. The one I stayed in had travertine flooring and a great size glass wall shower for any couple to enjoy. The bath products were not to my exact standards, but then I always travel with my own. The gym is fully equipped and I found myself wanting to exercise every day. It is large with a soaring ceiling and a glass cupola-styled center that fills the space with sunlight, its two ceiling fans providing the perfect comfort level to keep you going. The pool and hot tub were larger than I expected, and although the heater was not yet on for the "winter" months, I found the pool exhilarating like that of a cool lake in autumn. The property is older, and the two water features reflect that age, but then old Key West's charms lie in its weathered age. The property is undergoing more upgrades presently, and when I return on January 21, 2012, I will see many of those in place. I really appreciated the free wi-fi, continental breakfast, and happy hour every day. Finally, as a gay male only resort, it is one place where you can feel completely comfortable being the one person that matters the most on any holiday escape. Yourself! To all the staff I had the extreme pleasure of meeting, a heart-felt thank you, and I will see you next month!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Our 4th time at New Orleans House, & it just keeps improving! We've tried Island House which is very nice, but just too far a walk from everything, especially going back late at night. You just can't beat the value at Orleans House, or the friendliest staff in town. You're in the center of everything here, and all the gay spots too. We love the pool bar & came there many nights even before we stayed here. It's 2 for 1 for everyone 'til 8pm, but free drinks from 5pm to 6:30 for guests! You will also save the cover charge for all shows at the complex while here. Neil the Mgr was as helpful as could be, as was Bob & all the staff. They are never too busy at any time to help you with whatever questions or help you may need. We even got hugs from the pool bartender as we left! It was "Bone-Island" weekend, WOW, beautiful sights everywhere =) We were thankful that the pool is now heated, (at least on the weekend, it felt a tad colder by Tues.)They said they're getting flat-screen TVs after New Years, but we never turned the TV on once. If you're watching TV here, then you are missing all that Keywest & this great complex has to offer!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in late sometimes, I would suggest a rm upstairs as the pool bar music starts at 11am...That's not too early unless you enjoy the pool & hottub 'til dawn, as we did a few nights, lol! We were glad for the "wake-up" call, as it's too much fun here to sleep the day away... Also, we've stayed off-season (Sept.) & also "Women's weekend". We still had a great time, & it's "Men Only" in the Garden bar, pool, & both sundecks anyway. There is no bad time to come here!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you are planning a trip to Key West, this is the place to stay, the prices are completely reasonable, the place is clean, has a gym, pool and the staff is super-friendly and nice. The location was phenomenal, no need to cab it to go to Duval or anywhere really, it is centrally located and it was the best choice we made in Key West thus far. I recommend it highly! Thank you for everything, we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grommetick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was my 6th trip to Key West this year with 1 more planned...

The Good Stuff:
At around $150.00 per night it's reasonable for Key West.
Property offers safe parking across the street for a nominal fee.
Manager "Bob" greeted us in the parking lot, helped with bags, informed us of holiday happenings, was very pleasant/professional.
Maid service did a nice job each day cleaning/restocking the room.
Nice, clean, modern gym.
Free happy hour and continental breakfast adds to the value and socialness of the guest house.
Hardworking bartenders are friendly/fun. Did a better job of keeping the ladies out of the men only areas.

Areas that fell short/need help:
Pool was cold/unusable my entire stay! Addressed it twice with 2 different managers with no resolve. No one used the pool; it was obviously a problem???
The guy that swept up/cleaned the outdoor areas/decks did a horrible job. Condoms, cups, beer bottles, food/beverage spills left for days at a time.
Sun loungers are in terrible shape. Need to be thrown out or at least reupholstered.
Bed in room was squeaky and broken down.
Toilet in room had wrong size seat on it? If not careful things could get messy...
Hot water was scalding at times; would quickly get progressively hotter.
Small tube TV in room needs thrown out. Flat screens are inexpensive and really the standard now...
No adult/porn channels; again expected for this type of property.

Would I return to New Orleans House? Maybe; knowing what I know and with a cheep rate. However I'd have a hard time recommending it to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewOrleansHouse, General Manager at New Orleans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I very much appreciate it.

First I would like to address the pool heat issue. We don't advertise that we heat our pool and we usually do not. With our waterfall, heating becomes extremely expensive as most heat is lost through the waterfall. We do normally heat the pool during our the winter months over the weekends. Though we are not in heating season yet, I did decide to turn on the pool heater this past weekend only to find out that we had a malfunctioning valve and I was not able to divert water through the heater. I did work on it for about 30 minutes trying to get the valve open but I was unsuccessful. I apologize for that but since we are not in the heating season yet, I did not consider it a repair that required an emergency service call.

The problem over the weekend was exasperated by someone taking it upon themselves to attempt to turn on the pool heater and instead, set our hot tub to the "pool" setting which is 20 degrees cooler than the hot tub should have been set to. Once this was brought to my attention, I corrected the setting and within 2 hours, the hot tub was back up to the correct temperature.

As for the cleaning issue, this does disturb me and I will take it up immediately with my cleaning crew. There is no excuse for those areas not being cleaned daily and this will be addressed.

I wish I knew what room you were in so I could investigate the bed and toilet seat issue. I will look through all the rooms and try to ascertain which rooms they are.

Our hot water lines run through our attic and our hot water heaters are on the far side of the property so many times, people think they are getting hot water when they are actually getting the water that was just hot from being in the attic. Eventually, the real hot water comes through which is obviously much hotter. I will check the temperature setting to make sure that it's not set to high. It sounds as if it may be. It should never feel scalding.

We have already purchased flat screens for every room and will begin installing them next week. Your comment was very timely!

We have been investigating putting an adult channel in every room however, with the new changes coming through with digital cable conversions that we are required to make, we have to wait until that transition is complete before we invest in a system. If we purchased an analog system, it would be obsolete in just a few months so we are forced to wait for the digital conversion and then we can get quotes on a system.

The lounge chairs are also very high on the priority list to be addressed. We have already gotten quotes on the replacement slings and we will be starting that project in the near future.

As a returning guest, I'm sure you've seen the improvements we have already made. We installed a gym, upgraded our linens and towels, replaced all the lamps, have replaced flooring in many rooms, upgraded our wifi, replaced all locks with a key card system, purchased an additional parking lot, as well as many other enhanced benefits such as the free happy hour we now offer. We are unable to complete every project at once but I can assure you that you will continue to make enhancements in the coming year. One thing I am trying to do is to keep our rates low. In order to do that, I need to pace myself with the improvements. Your feedback is helpful in letting me know which are the ones that need to be the highest priority. We are still the lowest priced male only guesthouse in Key West even though we offer the best location and the most parking. I want to be sure we can always offer a value to our guests.

If you have any other feedback, please feel free to call me at the guesthouse.

Neil Chamberlain
Guest House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Going to Gay Key West for a little R&R? Try the New Orleans House. We stayed in the apartment in the back, directly off the pool area....it had a full kitchen, big bathroom and a living room, 2 tv's, a microwave, and a full sized fridge. They also have rooms upstairs with balconies that overlook Duval street (great for people watching). Is it the Ritz? No, but if you want a good Key West experience at a good price, then you will want to try it!

The guesthouse is attached to the bourbon street pub which has a big inside bar with DJ and dancers that was packed almost every night, another outside pool bar was equally as crowded....nice place to stay and play, plus easy access to everything on Duval street! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms overlooking Duval or the apartment!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dechuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews