We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Totally Refurbished and Managed Now! No longer "Bum Beach"”

Simonton Street Beach
Ranked #82 of 169 things to do in Key West
Attraction details
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Beach Totally Refurbished and Managed Now! No longer "Bum Beach"”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were unaware that "Bum Beach" had been cleaned up until our last trip to Key West! This is now a lovely small beach with a great little beach bar. We got a couple of chairs (~$5 each?) and spent a very happy afternoon camped out with some well-priced beers from the bar, and loved talking to the guys who work and manage there. We didn't try the food at the bar, but some other folks who did were raving about the fish tacos.

The swimming area is small, but very clean and nice, and there is a clean restroom in the bar area you can use to change (I am assuming with purchase). There is also a little boat that will take you out for harbor tours for $15. We ended up doing that and loved it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    9
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best fish taco's in the world ”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Best fish taco's in the world are at Lagerheads, a little beach bar on this beach. Had them today. No joke...literally amazing.

Helpful?
3 Thank Thesunmoonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy and relaxing”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Yes, it is small, but the guys that run the place are super friendly. The "hut" is new with a new bathroom and small bar/kitchen. Relax on your own chair and have beer, wine and/or their great fish tacos. For $15 you can get a nice boat ride around the islands nearby, about a 45 minute tour. The Captain (Dave) gives an interesting commentary during the ride. We also loved the State Park Beach too, but it is quite rocky and further away. Just being able to ride to the end of Simonton is so easy!! (yeah, I'm 64, you know what I mean?).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Looks amazing with the new manager Patrick. Really clean up nice, good parking. Small and quite. Has a great little boat you can rent for a little tour with an awesome capt. Great little place for small wedding ceremony also.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank babycbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice,quiet beach”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Small, clean beach. This is also a quiet beach. A great place to soak up the sun and sand! Web we were there only one other person was on the beach it was great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank reviewer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simonton Street Beach also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Simonton Street Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing