We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't meet our expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Tin Roof

Hot Tin Roof
Reserve with OpenTable
Hot Tin Roof is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Description: Hot Tin Roof features bright vibrant colors indicative of the overall style of the Ocean Key Resort & Spa. The restaurant's 3,000 square feet of dining features indoor seating for 60 and an outdoor deck overlooking Key West Harbor, accommodating up to 40 people. The restaurant's lounge, Stage Door, serves a unique selection of themed signature cocktails and is highlighted with a custom-designed mural by Key West artist Jeff Beal. "It's a melange of tastes and fragrances, combining traditional Florida foods with Latin, Caribbean and tropical influences. It's funky, fun, and fresh with a broad range of tastes and sensations. The restaurant features a relaxed elegance with dramatic water and sunset views.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We only had two nights in Key West, so you can imagine how much I poked around on Trip Advisor before we went, looking for the best places to eat. I don't have friends or family who visit often, and I hadn't been there in 20 years, so this was my best shot. I wouldn't go back. Our reservation was just past sunset, and apparently because I had reserved on Open Table, it wasn't clear that we preferred to dine outside. When I requested this, it was accommodated, so that was good. If we had been seated inside, we would have left. Food was average, service less than average (slow). There was a wedding party there as well, seated right behind us, so a lot of commotion associated with that (but cheers to them, it's a happy occasion). I had the mahi which was served at approximately the temperature of the sun. Could not comment on flavor as I was too busy fanning my mouth. My husband had the paella, which was in a word, okay. With all of the restaurants in Key West, this place must keep getting business because of the location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drsparty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanKeyResort, Manager at Hot Tin Roof, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear drsparty93,
I sincerely apologize that your dining experience was not to your expectations. While our location is one of the best anywhere, we must provide food and service to match. You are absolutely correct on your displeasure of the Mahi entrée. We have since changed the preparation of that particular menu item, in part based on customer feedback such as yours. I would like to thank you for taking the time to express your comments online, as this is one of our most important tools to continually improve our product. If you should ever return to Key West, please feel free to reach out to me directly. I would love to opportunity to treat you and your guest to dinner on your next visit.
Thank you so much,
Rodger Levering | Food & Beverage Director
rlevering@oceankey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,175
    343
    182
    82
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orefield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must in Key West!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous view coupled with fantastic food and a an awesome staff. Be sure to ask for an outside table to bask in the beautiful sunset!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a recommendation from a friend who visited last year. It was a Monday evening and very quiet, we almost had the place to our self. Service was very good, food was excellent, not the cheapest but still very good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frostyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Very good dinner the night we were married”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at the Hot Tin Roof the night we were married in Key West. The Manager, Joseph Lyles, was very kind and took excellent care of us. The food and ambiance was excellent, but the service was a little slow. They weren't overly busy or crowded, so I'm not sure of the reason, but it would not prevent us from recommending this restaurant to anyone else and we will return next time we're in Key West.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“View saved the meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Food was good but did not meet the expectations. The best aspect of this restaurant is the view of the sunset. The waitress seemed to be annoyed when asked questions regarding the menu. The outside dining area is unique and perfect for the numerous boats passing during Conch Republic parade during our meal.

The unexpected "dinner show" was quite interesting as airplanes passed overhead dropping rolls of toilet paper and boats sprayed each other as they passed.

There are better choices in Key West if it is fine dining you are seeking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northshorefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tin Roof also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Hot Tin Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing