We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Bight ....Love it!”

Key West Historic Seaport
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.59*
and up
Shipwreck Snorkel and Wild Dolphin Encounter
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Key West Hop-on Hop-off Narrated Trolley Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Bugeye Backcountry Schooner Eco Tour
Ranked #16 of 174 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Key West Bight ....Love it!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As you walk around the harbor you can get a feel of how it once was; with the old shrimp, sponge and turtle boats hauling in their harvest. (Those days are long gone and I hope we learned from something from our society's poor behavior. ) Nowadays, pvt. boats, charter fishing boats,and a few tall ships are the norm. Seek out Dennis on his 42ft. Catalina charter sailboat and you can take the helm once you get out on the water. Look in the tourist books and find two for one drink coupons at a few of the Seaport bars.. ....just tip like you are paying for two! Get one for each person in your party. then ask the bartender if they want one for each of you and they usually just take one for the group and use it the next time. (don't waste them at happy hour). Scooner's has awesome music, starting at noon. Alonzo's and Half Shell have half price appetizer's at happy hour, get a couple and make it your meal. B.O.'s fish shack has the best, quick fish and fried "konk" on the island. (the fritters need some help though) If your hotel does not have a nice bar at the pool go to Dante's in your suit, day time only, and grab a few boat drinks, they will also cook your catch. Granted, most of these places need a few more IPA's and dark ales in their selection but a new brewery is on the way....We saw a dolphin hunting there one night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    166
    24
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Walk around day or night”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Loved walking around here during the day and night. At night the boats are lit up and it was Christmas time so lots of lights. There are a lot of restaurants around here as well. We kept coming back each day to walk around and look at the boats.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank triptravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to take walk”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We did the harbor-walk during the late afternoon on the thanksgiving day 2012.

We saw couple of manatee near the deck eating sea grass at the beginning of the boardwalk walk. There was a warning sign for boats about manatees so we guess manatees are frequently seen at this place. Harbor water was clear enough and there were not many boats docked so we saw them well and up close.

We could see lots of big Tarpons swimming along with them. One of the restaurants located along the harbor walk feeds the fish and pelicans there at 4.00pm in the evening. The pelicans there seem to know the exact time and place this feeding happens so we could see them gathering near the restaurant. We waited there to witness the feeding but they announced that they don't have enough fish to feed. Don't know whether this is the usual case.

There are lots of places to ear and shop along the harbor walk. Boat tours also provided for a a fee. We saw some tall sail ships too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DushanRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Away from Duval....”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A must see stop if you're here for more than a day. Lots of good places to eat. Fun shops and the best key lime pie, Kermit's. walk around on the boardwalk and have fun

Helpful?
1 Thank Fishyfishy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to visit...often”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A quiet place to go. Plenty of sea life to view in the clear waters, lovely boats, charters galore, resorts, restaurants, public facilities, shops, turtle museum, best Cuban coffee in the world around the corner, maybe even a manatee or two. Great way to start and end the day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank l p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Historic Seaport also viewed

 

Been to Key West Historic Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing