We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our everyday breakfast spot in K.W.”
Review of Banana Cafe

Banana Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Banana Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 444 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Louisa Street
Transit: Bus stop half block away
Description: French café established in 1992, popular for breakfast, lunch and dinner, offers the best of France mixed with local seafood in a relaxed indoor and outdoor dining overlooking fantastic Duval Street. Open non-stop from 7:30 am till 10 pm.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our everyday breakfast spot in K.W.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Looking for a breakfast/lunch place in Key West with traditional as well as original menu? Look no further! We absolutely love this place, the staff is always warm and friendly, the food is always outstanding! We come here every morning when in K.W. and can always find something we haven't had before on their big menu. Omelet and crepe lovers rejoice! This is the place for you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments. Please don't forget us for dinner. Banana Cafe serves a unique dinner menu from 6pm to 10pm nightly, artfully prepared by our Chef Mick Pera and his staff.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

bon appétit,

Michael,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,743
    843
    242
    67
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast and people watching”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Got there at a good time, because when we left, there was a line out the door. Quaint French-style cafe--the menu looked amazing and the service was perfect and friendly. We went for the omeletttes with the side of the most amazing home fries. Wish I had room for crepes--they looked delish as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hammer91b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Music to our ears. Thanks for your gracious review. The hint of rosemary seasoning makes the
home fries shine (in my opinion). Please visit again and try one of our almost 2 dozen crepes, both savory and sweet options.

bon appétit,

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service, Superb Food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

French cuisine is alive and well in Key West at Banana Cafe, located at the quiet end of Duval Street. We dined there last evening and were delighted with the warmth of our greeting, the attentiveness and good humor of our waiter, Vashe, and the breathtaking deliciousness of our meals.

Soft yellow hues and abundance of French-themed artwork adorn the walls at Banana Cafe. French music plays softly in the background. Once seated, menus quickly arrived and the feast commenced. We shared a very fine French Onion soup and a superb salad for our appetizers. Then the Snapper and Pan Seared half Chicken entrees arrived. I'm not sure I've ever enjoyed a finer preparation of chicken, as it came perfectly cooked, moist, and covered in a mouthwatering mushroom sauce. My lady broke into a giant grin upon tasting her fish dish: "This is the best Snapper I've ever tasted," she quickly advised.

In short, we loved this place. Banana Cafe is now on our "We Shall Return" list for Key West.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montaukrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Heart warming to read your kind words regarding your meal and Vashe's service. Chef Mick Pera
and the entire staff thank you. We have not always served dinner, but our
dinner service has become ever more popular during the past 3 seasons especially. Thanks for
taking the time to relay your thoughts and please visit Banana Cafe again.

bon appétit,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rittman, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crepealicious”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A great place to enjoy a savory crepe of your liking. Service is very good the crepes are exceptionally prepared. Prices are very reasonable and you are right on Duval.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tlcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
What a delicious new word..."crepealicious". Dominique Falkner, the co-owner of Banana Cafe and popular French author will no doubt be delighted by your new creation.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

bon appétit,

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wasn't sold on this place as I wanted to try La Creperie, but so glad we ate here. Sat outside on the deck and enjoyed good coffee, a great waiter, and an excellent breakfast. I enjoyed the salmon bagel plate, while my husband ate an omelette. We had the Nutella and butter and sugar crepe afterwards. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sjs4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We love our friends at La Creperie and are extremely proud of our staff and food at Banana Cafe.
Thanks for acknowledging your experience and we hope you'll return often. In addition to breakfast and lunch which we serve daily from 8am to 3pm, Banana Cafe also serves a lovely
dinner menu prepared by Chef Mick Pera and his talented staff from 6pm to 10pm.

bon appétit,

Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Cafe also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Banana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing