We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Authors Key West Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed there two nights. Tippy from the desk was wonderful to deal with and talk to. Once we got into the rooms they were badly in need of upgrade. Looks like the floors of the Hemingway and Williams hadn't been washed for a long long time. Otherwise the room looked comfy other than couch appeared to be dirty. First night the Hemingway which was an upgrade. Spent several hours before going to bed killing ants in the front room, bathroom and bedroom. Since the attendants start around 9 a.m. and leave by 6 or 7 p.m. we slept there. Next morning told Tippy we had well over a dozen ants killed she apologized and put us in the Williams room and gave us a modest refund for the inconvience. We know bugs etc. are hard to control in this climate but didn't expect the next room to be even worse. This time we collected sixteen more kills in the Williams room the second night and flushed down numerous more in the toilet. Since Tippy had asked the first day if we had any to show her. Tippy apparently was off the our 2nd day and the attendant said she would let them know and take care of the problem as we gave her the sixteen so they could see the problem was real. I had called the owner the 2nd night and she said she didn't want to be rude but it wasn't any real emergency and knew what happened the first night and we had been moved and would go get some bug spray or refund our money at 9 p.m. and we could find somewhere else. We didn't want to pick up that late at night and move and try to find another hotel at so we stuck it out. Other than Tippy the attitude was very disappointing for anyone who just wanted a nice memory of Key West and a couple of good nights sleep without worring about ants crawling in bed with you. As you can imagine my wife got very little sleep those two nights.

Room Tip: This place needs some real attention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I chose Authors Guesthouse for our anniversary weekend in Key West and loved it! The front desk was super friendly and helpful. They let us leave our luggage in our room even though we arrived a few hours early. The room was spacious and comfy and we had a private balcony (we had the Harry S Truman room). There's a great complimentary breakfast in the morning and a little pool to cool off in. The only small drawback is that it's a tad far from the things that we wanted to do (Duval, Sunset Pier, etc.). That was an easy fix with cheap cabs and bike rentals - but just an FYI.

I'd definitely stay here again. Cute, quiet, and comfy!

Room Tip: Harry S Truman room is great! Private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a Three day trip to Key West where we snuggled up at Author's of Key West! What a great place! Helpful staff, great clean rooms, and a nice "hot tub" to relax in! We love it! The rooms are small, clean, and comfortable who could ask for more. We will definitely be staying in Author's on our next visit! We Stayed in the McCuller's sweet which was the cheapest available and despite the reasonable price did not disappoint! A+++

Room Tip: If you are like us and would rather have a nice cozy room for a reasonable price so you can spend mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazenbyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice while visiting the Keys. Off the main strip, nestled in the quiet district of small eateries and island style atmosphere. We rented bikes and road all over the lower keys for our travel. It was an awesome place to stay with wonderful hospitality. Although the pool is very small, its a great way to relax, they have a daily breakfast served on the patio under tropical foliage.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumrbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really lovely guest house in Key West. Great pool (with added jacuzzi bubbles), nice breakfast, great friendly people, clean, quiet air conditioning.
Tippi (on the front desk) arranged bike hire for us when we arrived and the company brought us the bikes!
If you are on foot & wanting to explore I would reccommend hiring bikes as it is a 15-20 min walk to Duval Street which was a bit too much for us in the August heat.

Free parking on the street next to the guest house. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in McCullers - it is a v small room but very quiet (and cheap! Which is why i chose it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful property with cute little extras...fabulous front desk staff (hurrah, Tippy!) adorable rooms (Williams cottage was perfect for a little getaway) continental breakfast was a great starter in the am, quiet, clean and would return in a second!! This is an example of why I would rather visit B&Bs and stay away from stuffy corporate hotel chains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripping58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I along with 12 other family members stayed here for our wedding moon. I was in contact with the guesthouse crew for over 11 months and they were helpful in answering any questions I had regarding what to do, places to eat and anything else under the sun! They were kind enough to let us have our wedding luncheon on the property and they were also nice enough to let me ship things ahead of time and hold them until our arrival. The property itself is terrific. It's very reminiscent of a huge bohemian village with little areas scattered around the property to relax and unwind. The pool isn't huge but it's great for dipping into after a long day wandering around Key West. This place is far enough away from the noise and craziness of Duval but not to far that walking is a problem. Tippi was a true gem and made us all feel like family and Johnna was wonderful at giving suggestions on things to do. We stayed in the Poet Room and it was phenomenal (huge king size bed, full kitchen and a good size closet). The entire family agrees that if we make our way to Key West again we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else but Author's Guesthouse!

Room Tip: The pool area seemed to be the main congregating area so if like it super quiet at night I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#31 of 77 in Key West
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#43 of 77 in Key West
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Authors Key West Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authors Key West Guesthouse

Address: 725 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7166
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $156 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Authors Key West Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Authors Key West Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Authors Key West Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing