We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Authors Key West Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great location, staff, service and experience! Easy walk, quiet and beautiful scenery. Visit Mo's down White street towards the pier...the most amazing cuisine I have ever had! (and the sweet shop down the road has awesome key lime cookies!)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhondatxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 483 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

A decent value in KW. A short walk to Old Town and two great bakeries. Harbor Walk is a nice morning stroll. We had a nice stay overall.
Things to note:
The "pool" is a hot tub.
Breakfast is very basic.
Street noise was surprising at times.
Some things were showing signs of neglect that would be easy to fix (the faucet, door blinds, and some heavy dust on the books in the room).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a favorite of ours. Each room is named for an author or artist and are very well maintained. A continental breakfast is served in the gardens every morning. You can relax or get crazy at Mallory Square or Duval St just a walk away. A great home away from home.

Room Tip: We've stayed in two separate rooms and have visited a few others---they all seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bch4joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This converted old house on the quiet edge of the historic district of Key West is an easy walk from Duval Street, but far enough removed from the crowds of college kids on spring break that you can get a good night's sleep. We stayed in the McCullers room, which is the smallest one on the premises--clean and tastefully furnished, with just enough room for a comfortable queen sized bed, a wardrobe and a small bookshelf with several novels by Carson McCullers. An included breakfast is served on the shady patio. The staff was welcoming and gave us good advice about restaurants ( BO's Fish Wagon for lunch).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pxb_oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The room was equipped with all necessities. Upon arrival, the concierge helped us plan a lovely day, directing us to good food, and out of the way shops.
We enjoyed the spa tub and free breakfast. We were also able to fill our water bottles with filtered water.
We stayed in Herlihy suite, and it was a good experience. The only con was a dead bug in the bathroom, and a small spider on the pillow sham.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Key west... Authors made it a trip to remember!
We were there on Presidents weekend in Feb. We stayed in the Lillian Hellman Room which is in front of the pool/spa. For a three day weekend, It was very quit, the other guests great, it was like spending the weekend at an old friends house! We had a great day on Duval st. doing all the tourist stuff, then had dinner at Willy t's (GREAT MOJITOS!) we went back to Authors, relaxed out in the garden area with another couple had a few drink then off to bed. slept like a baby. The room was clean and smelled good. The lady in the office was very helpful with planning our day, very knowledgeable of the area. The Al Fresco breakfast in the garden was enjoyable. We will definitely stay there when we go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The guest house is very nice, small and homely with only about 9 guest rooms. We stayed in the ground floor room number 3 which opened onto the small pool terrace. Ideal spot we thought. All of the rooms were occupied for our three night stay, mostly by middle aged to older couples. Our neighbours in room 2 were a younger couple who had no consideration for other guests. They flouted the rules of the hot tub by drinking and smoking whilst in it, then each night, would stay on the terrace until the small hours drinking and socialising loudly. In a small intimate environment such as this, it is impossible to remain divorced from what is going on on the premises and it left us with three sleepless nights. We are not party poopers, indeed although in our early 50's we like to 'give the ball a kick' but there is a time an place to exercise consideration for others. I flag this up because you need to be aware that the guest house do not have staff on premises after 7pm and before 8.30am, so it has to police itself. There is no one to complain to and you have to rely on making your own protestations to drunken individuals which is a conflict one could do without on holiday. I have e-mailed the guest house to tell them about this problem and to suggest that they consider posting warnings for guest to be considerate, but ideally have 24/7 staff to be on site. I doubt if the latter will happen so by all means stay here. Its a nice place. But you take pot luck on who your neighbours will be.

Room Tip: Not sure really. Air con was noisy in room 3 but it drowned out the guests, so that was a relief. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RotherhamRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vagabond99, Manager at Authors Key West Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We do apologize about the rowdy guests. We are unable, and normally don't require, a person on site 24 hours. This also helps to keep our rates low. We do, however, have a person on "24 Hour Emergency Call" for this exact sort of thing. It is not fair in the slightest that your stay was interrupted by rude guests. We do consider that an emergency and wish you had informed us of the situation. My after hours call person lives only a mile away and can be there within 15 minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#9 of 77 in Key West
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Authors Key West Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authors Key West Guesthouse

Address: 725 White St, Key West, FL 33040-7166
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $184 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Authors Key West Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Authors Key West Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Authors Key West Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing