We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay for a destination wedding B&B!”
Review of The Duval Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Duval Inn
Ranked #53 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My family/friends recently rented out all but 2 rooms at the Duval Inn for a destination wedding weekend...it was AMAZING! The innkeepers Michael and Jeremy were beyond our expectations and made our stay there perfect. We were able to have a cookout at the Inn on the day most of the guest arrived and happy hour was always made flexible to ensure we could partake despite our wedding schedules. Michael & Jeremy were always there and helps us make decisions about activities and great hidden places to eat some of the best seafood we've ever had! The location of Duval Inn could not have been more perfect either...it was in walking distance of everything we needed/wanted to do but it is just far enough off Duval Street that at night we could sleep without any issues! The garden/pool area of the Inn was perfect too...it helped us feel like we were in our own secluded paradise every morning/evening!! I would HIGHLY recommend Duval Inn for both large groups of poeple as well as a romantic getaway for 2! The grounds/rooms are clean and nice and are a great value especially when considering the location of the inn! The staff is PRICELESS!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WisconsinRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for The Duval Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 757 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2009

I recommend to my customers, friends and family to stay here. When I tell them about the Duval Inn, I take them to Google maps and zoom in at street level and show them around that way. It's great. They deserve kudos for their great place. Great job, boys!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickcip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We spend two nights here recently, staying in the Amanda room, which is described on their website as "petite and cozy". In truth, it was pretty cramped, apart from the decently-sized bathroom. In addition, throughout our stay, we could hear the conversations of the people in the neighboring room (The Lauren), which was very disturbing, especially at night when we were trying to sleep. In the morning, we both awoke at around 5.30am because the room was so bright, even with the blinds closed - the shutters are not meant to be closed and so the light comes in very brightly from the early morning. When we finally got back to sleep, we were awoken next by the sound of bikers having breakfast outside our room on the porch, chatting incredibly loudly (unless you have a Harley, this is probably not the place for you).
Breakfast was fine, but not great, and overall we left this inn more tired than when we had arrived. With all the additions - parking at $10/night, hiring the inn's run-down bicycles at $10/day etc. - this hotel is far from cheap or good value for your money. I wouldn't recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkempesta, Innkeeper at The Duval Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2009

We are, of course, sorry that these folks did not have a pleasant stay with us here at the Duval Inn. We care about our guests, and desire to do our part in ensuring that their visit to Key West is both enjoyable and relaxing. The many positive reviews we regularly receive reflects our commitment to do so.
As travelers ourselves, we understand the difference between just running a business and caring about the experience of the guests we serve. So we make it a point to make sure every one of our guests is happy. Unfortunately, it is difficult to please everyone. We only wish these folks had voiced their concerns with us during their stay, so that we could have made every effort possible to give them a satisfying experience.
Kindest Regards,
Michael Kempesta, Duval Inn Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Unfortunately, we only had one night at the Duval Inn, but we very much enjoyed it and plan to return. Both Michael and Jeremy were very helpful--nothing a bother for them. The Inn is just steps from Duval St. so walking distance to everything. Great breakfast--healthy options available. I enjoyed using their bikes which they have available for rent; made it easy. Good off-street parking. If you are a light sleeper, try to get a room off the street, but I have to say that even though we had a room at street level/up front, we slept well--just a couple of noisy motorcycles. The room was very complete-nothing missing for us.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Duval Inn from February 6-9. Jeremy was great in booking our room and the entire staff really took care of us.

The inn has a great location - very central to all attractions on Duval Street. Happy Hour is a blast, especially if you catch Jeremy there on his off day...ha!

We will not hesitate in staying there again!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 8th anniversay at the Duval Inn. I can not say enough about the Inn. Great location, breakfast, happy hour. Jermeny and Micahel were very gracious hosts. We also loved Jack the rooster. He had us up at 7am every morning. (we were awake and ready to go anyway).... Stay here!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVHEREWECOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Duval Inn is awesome! We visited there the end of Jan/beginning of Feb 2009 and couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay!! We chose the Inn from their website and you all know how that can go, but boy were we impressed! What you see on their website is exactly what you get. Breakfast was delicious, something for everyone as far as continental breakfasts go (bagels/yogurt/cereal/fresh pineapple and more). The bagels were fresh every morning, juices were kept cold without being diluted, coffee was just the right temp and they have an assortment of teas for you to enjoy!! What can I say about Happy Hour, it was truly HAPPY!! A well stocked assortment of beverages and snacks. We enjoyed sitting around talking to Jeremy & Michael and the other guests. We met some very nice/interesting people during our stay. Everyone was so friendly we felt right at home. The rooms are cleaned daily and immaculately kept. I just can't think of anything that wasn't perfect during our stay. When we left it felt like we were leaving family!! We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beachgirl159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#44 of 77 in Key West
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#59 of 77 in Key West
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#51 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Address: 511 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7432
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $164 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Duval Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing