We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrated 40th at the Duval Inn!!”
Review of The Duval Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duval Inn
Ranked #51 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, KY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Celebrated 40th at the Duval Inn!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2008

We stayed 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday and we were 110% satisfied. My wife and I have traveled together for 18 years and we've never been treated so well. Michael and Jeremy go way out of thier way to make you feel at home. It is like staying with friends. They even had a cake and decorations for me at happy hour. The location is great and the rooms are very comfortable. The property is spotless. As long as these two are running this inn we'll never even look at another property in Key West. It was a very unique experience and we made many wonderful memories at the Duval Inn.

  • Liked — Location and management
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DeWBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    136
    34
    15
    14
See reviews for
62
450
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, FL
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Stayed at the Duval Inn with girlfriend and another couple at the end of spring semester. Staying there definately made our keys trip more enjoyable. JP was awesome! He gave great advice on places to go and got us a discount on some stuff. We rented bikes from there and used them the whole time. Location was amazing. pretty much right in the center of everything. When I make a trip back there I will definately stay at Duval Inn again.

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gatorjake18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2008

What a perfect place to stay. We came to Key West for a good time and found it at the Duval Inn. We were staying at another hotel far from the action, when we met a couple who told us about the Duval Inn. We decided to switch hotels and were very very pleased. It is right off Duval. When we got there we were greeted with drinks and friendly faces. Our room was so clean and cute. The bathrooms were very clean as well. It felt like a home away from home. We had breakfast in the garden which was a nice added bonus. The staff was so wonderful to us. We will def. come back and stay there next time we are in Key West.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — everything was wonderful
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babybluevolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliebobs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

What a fabulous place to stay. We stayed here for three nights in July and if we hadn't been meeting friends in Key Largo would have stayed longer!
The Duval Inn is in the most perfect location, literally a few steps from Duval St.
We stayed in the 'Key West' room. The minute we opened the door we were stunned, it was dominated by a huge comfortable bed and was exactly what we hoped it would be. Great bathroom.Lots of huge white fluffy towels!
Absolutely spotlessly clean throughout and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived.
The inclusive happy hour was a perfect way to meet with the other guests and we always made sure we got back to the hotel in time.
Breakfast in the garden was a great start to the day too and another added bonus.
We had a perfect stay in Key West and our choice of hotel was the best we could have made.

We will be returning next year!

  • Liked — Happy hour
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We wanted to visit Key West on our three week visit to Florida. Initially we booked a hotel listed in Lonely Planet, but they did not allow children. Instead they recommended Duval Inn and it was perfect for us. Our kids are 6 and 14 and they, too, loved the place. Arrival is almost like visiting old friends or family, we immediately felt ourselves welcome, and the afternoon happy-hour was enhanced with softdrinks for the kids.

Location is perfect, within walking distance of Duval Street, Mallory Square and the old Harbor, yet there is free parking and very quiet in the garden and the pool-area.

Recommended for almost any type of traveler; family, couples (young as well as mature). Probably not the place to pick for the party-people, though.

If we ever go to Key West again, we will definitely stay at the Duval Inn.

  • Liked — Complete friendliness and good atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-Nielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My fiance' and I decided we wanted to get married in Key West in May 2008. We invited several of our friends and family, many of whom live far away from our New Jersey beginnings, to come share our special day with us. We booked the Duval Inn for ourselves and several people in our party. We took up all but, I believe, just 2 rooms. The hospitality started the night we arrived. JP, the GM, arranged an extended happy hour for us as the group we were with did not arrive till around 9pm. It was so great to reunite with some people we hadn't seen for a long time and have nice cold drinks waiting in the courtyard for us.
We were married on 5/10/08 at Fort Zack and had a light reception back at the Inn around the pool. All I had to do is pick out our menu and JP, Isis, Patrick and the staff did the rest. The butlered hordevours were delicious and the wings the best ever. The drinks were flowing and JP put a stocked humidor out, compliments of the Inn. The whole atmosphere was delightful with the foliage and the floating candles in the pool. It was just beautiful.
All of the rooms were VERY CLEAN thanks to the lovely Svetlana who was very sweet, conscientious and helpful. We stayed in the Lauren which was the most romantic and spacious of all the rooms with a wonderful 4 posted bed. All of us agreed that the beds were very comfortable and we were all pleased with our accommodations.
The Inn is very quaint and charming and the staff is fantastic. it is just a block from Duval street, very convenient, but we did not experience any street noise. JP couldn't do enough for us. Isis and Patrick everyone was friendly and pleasant and without Frankie we would not have found our new friend and wedding photographer, Rob Oneal or the beautiful view atop the La Concha hotel. Our experience at the Duval Inn just made one of the happiest days of our lives all the more memorable and pleasurable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, location
  • Disliked — 1 small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TandANewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Not having booked an accommodation in Key West we happened upon the Duval Inn whilst driving around. Initial enquiries with staff for availability for the four days we were touring the Keys proved to be most helpful and obliging. We had to have two different rooms for our stay due to not having made firm pre-booking arrangements with them. That did not bother us in the slightest as both rooms that we had the use of were of the highest standard for this type of accommodation we were staying in. By that I mean that the Duval Inn was the quaintest little place by far that we have stayed in in all our travels abroad.
It was very very clean, unpretentious, welcoming, friendly and all this made possible by the staff there especially the very exuberant "JP" who proved to be a real fun guy and a font of excellent stories that made breakfasts and "happy hour" a real fun experience.
We had a most relaxing time there and would thoroughly recommend the Duval Inn to anyone wanting a chic and pleasant if not quaint place to stay whilst chilling out in the "Keys".
Tony and Margaret - Ripley, Derbyshire. United Kingdom

  • Liked — The cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — I could find nothing to criticise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFromRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus International Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#46 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Key West
Villas Key West
#6 of 21 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Property: The Duval Inn
Address: 511 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7432
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duval Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing