We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the Keys!”
Review of The Duval Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duval Inn
Ranked #55 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here in early May and fell in love with the hotel! It is cute, clean and in the ideal location for Key West! The pool was ideal to cool off in and the Tikki Bar has a happy hour that provides free drinks for hotel guests! That hour is a very happy one! Breakfast is actually very good and it was a joy to sit in the patio area in the morning to enjoy the start to a new day. I can highly recommend the hotel and the room we had, the Andora for its perfect position!

Room Tip: Choose a room by the pool with its own en suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drawn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 765 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Duval Inn! We chose this location based on the reviews on trip advisor, and let me tell you, they did not disappoint! We came to Key West for the first time to get married, and we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing place to call home for the week. The location is perfect, and the staff is more than accommodating and friendly! Don't think twice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was mine and my husbands first visit to Key West and the Duval Inn. And we will be absolutely returning to both in the future. Clean, comfortable and in the middle of it all without feeling like you are. The owner Corey, really made us feel at home. Roy is the go-to-guy for great cocktails (try his rum punch) at Happy Hour and for recommendations of local activities. Our room was cozy and clean. The property is beautifully landscaped and relaxes you the instant you step foot in the pool. The staff is super accommodating and helpful. They held onto our luggage for us for 7 hours after check out while waiting for our flight out, let us hang by the pool and enjoy one last Happy Hour. All in all it was one of the best experiences we've had on vacation. We highly recommend a stay at The Duval Inn for a first visit and every return visit. 5 Stars!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gherm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

There's numerous lodging choices in Key West. One key consideration should definitely be location, and the Duval Inn definitely has a prime spot. Located right off of Duval Street (the main drag in town), it provides easy access to all the prime shopping, restaurants and activities in Key West within walking distance so that you'll never need to move your car (or even have one if flying in).

The entire staff was very friendly, but one member, "Foggy", definitely went above and beyond in making the guests feel at home. He's the main bartender, and there's a happy hour every night from 5-6 (or longer if "Foggy" feels like it) where the drinks are completely free (but definitely give him a solid tip). He makes the drinks strong and provides plenty of stories about the area, sailing and random anecdotes.

When booking, you'll also have the choice of many different rooms. We went for the "Mango" room. The room was a bit tight, but it was clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job each day on it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend found this online and we decided to stay here for our Key West visit because it was such an amazing price and so close to the hustle and bustle of Duval street. I thought it looked really nice from the pictures, but I wasn't expecting it to be so beautiful and nice and updated when we got there. It was all of those things & more. The girl at the desk/inn keeper, whose name escapes me right now, was extremely nice & helpful in recommending where to eat/visit/go. To get to our bedroom (the Dolphin) you have to pass through the 'courtyard' which is like a secret tropical garden oasis with all varieties and colors of island flowers and spouting water fountains and quaint outdoor seating and a colorfully decorated little tiki bar for happy hour! Our room had a mini fridge, a little flat screen TV, and neat art on the wall from a giant acryllic painting of the Inn itself to some pictures of Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall (reminiscent of Key Largo). The bed was VERY comfortable and overall the bedroom was very cozy. The bathroom is only about a 10 foot walk away down the hall and also very nicely updated. The breakfast in the morning is more than enough to energize you for a busy day and it's so nice to enjoy it out in the courtyard. From there, you walk a short 20 foot walk to Duval St where there's so much to do. Overall, the stay was fantastic. It's a quiet, quaint, cozy, tropical little piece of paradise at the Duval Inn. The owners have done an amazing job paying attention to detail and I really can't believe how affordable it was for such a beautiful place to stay in the heart of Key West.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM89777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this lovely place. It is really in the centre, steps away from Duval Street and just 10 minute from Mallory square where the famous sunset celebration happening every evening. Rooms are clean and well maintained, shared bathroom is big enough and not overused by others. Pool is a plus and the happy hour in the bar is a nice touch. Kat at reception was extremely helpful and nice but great customer service from the whole staff overall! Hopefully we will have another chance to visit Florida and then that's no question where we will stay!

Room Tip: Seehorse is a cosy and quite room with a good size nice and modern shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had an excellent time here with family and friends. It's right off the main strip so you walk everywhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were extremely accommodating from the minute we checked in until the cab came to take us to the airport. Their happy hour was my favorite part of the trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#59 of 77 in Key West
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#46 of 77 in Key West
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Address: 511 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7432
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $250 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Duval Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing