We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little place”
Review of The Duval Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duval Inn
Ranked #51 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great little place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First off...location- half a block from Duval St. The best part about the location is that you can walk just about everywhere, but it is also quiet. We were about 3 blocks from the party/big bar scene and right near a lot of cute shops and galleries. Close enought to walk to the Hemingway house, Mallory Square, butterfly conservatory, Lighthouse, etc.

We stayed in the Catherine room which is perfect for couples- super clean and a very nice room.

They do provide parking for an additional $10 a day which is well worth it. There is a little bar at the pool where they have a nice happy hour from 5-6 each day.

The staff was very polite and nice, and not overly intrusive whcih sometimes happens at B&Bs. They let you do your own thing.

Even if you don't stay here, do not go to a B&B without a pool- you will regret it.

Don't miss the 7:15 cat show at Mallory Square- hysterical!

Room Tip: The Catherine room was very nice and it is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshW852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    137
    34
    15
    14
See reviews for
62
452
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Duval Inn in July. The weather in Key West was horrendous, so we were unable to enjoy happy hour each evening. But we did enjoy breakfast and pool one evening, which has a lovely garden feel. We had two couples / two rooms. The Lauren Room in the main house was fantastic with the exception of some minor repairs. It was large, lots of windows, comfortable 4 poster bed, etc. However, the Leaf Room in the outer building smelled wet (like mold) and was quite cramped. The location was top notch just steps away from Duval Street and all major attractions. Each island end was very close. Easy walk to The Southernmost Point to the left (10 Minutes walk) and the Sunset Celebration to the right (10 minutes walk). And all the way in between were shops, restaurants and bars. Staff was pleasant, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lauren Room in the Main House was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Traveled to Key West for the first time in July and I did some major research among tons on places mostly focusing on B&Bs and I was recommended to The Duval Inn by a friend so I went with it. On arrival it was somewhat late but the staff did show us around to our rooms and even let my friends upgrade to a bigger room even though it was around 730pm.
The next morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast and chat with Alex thankfully was very helpful on knowing where to go seeing as it was my first time there and also that nobody else in Key West had any good recommendations for food or anything. We didn't make it back to as many "happy hours" as i would have liked to because we were always doing things but the one we did make it to was a great time. It was nice meeting the other people that stayed in there and also the staff. They even allowed us to catch up since we got to happy hour late.
Location is great, it's far enough from all the noise but still close enough to walk everywhere on Duval St.
As for the rooms I would love to see in the near future to have a room or 2 that have 2 beds instead of just one and also a slight upgrade in the Seahorse room would be good, maybe to the likes of the dolphin room. Regardless, these minor things are nothing that would change my mind about the place being great.
I can't wait till i go back and possibly try out the Hibiscus and Key West rooms.

Thanks for an Amazing time!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you're choosing between the Dolphin and Seahorse room - choose the Dolphin room it's slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I hit a home run here. Was looking for a moderately priced B&B that was available and had received good reviews. Well, this is it! My expectations were exceeded in most every way. The rooms are clean, the pool is nice, but most of all, I was overwhelmed by the friendliness, helpfulness, and charm of the staff. I especially enjoyed the nightly Happy Hour from 5-6 pm. It is a great chance to meet and learn from other travellers. Roy, the bartender, is a class act and fun to hang out with. I would definitely stay here again, no complaints!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

THE best location 1 block off Duval Street in the center of town so was convenient to EVERYTHING! The Staff was superb . . . serving breakfast (gourmet treats), happy hour drinks at their tiki bar . . . relaxing music at the pool. The perfect place to stay... we will definately be back. The room was cheery and clean... with little chocolates to greet us. They have thought of everything. Hmmm... maybe I shouldn't brag on this place too much . . . I may not be able to get a room next time . . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I made reservations in March 2012 for a stay in March 2013, received confirmation AND paid for the first night. Then I was called in May and told there was a "double-booking" and was no longer able to stay at the Duval Inn. I don't believe there ever was a "double-booking", I was told that a wedding party was there for the weekend and I think they wanted the whole place for themselves and we were kicked out. I am extremely disappointed how WE were the ones with the "double-booking". Then they tried to get us to stay "across the street". When I looked that place up, it was a time-share and looked terrible! We booked a B&B for a reason, not to be shoved into a time-share. I would NEVER recommend this B&B to anyone, or EVER try to stay there again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Hochzoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Although my husband and I live in the Florida Keys we always enjoy our trips to Key West. We especially enjoyed this trip to the Duval Inn where we found the nicest staff, cleanest room and great location. Happy hour was a plus and the bar was far more stocked than I have ever seen. Breakfast was great with a variety of items to start your day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keys_Conch_33036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Pegasus International Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#47 of 77 in Key West
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 77 in Key West
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#11 of 77 in Key West
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Property: The Duval Inn
Address: 511 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7432
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Duval Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing