We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing meal”
Review of Cafe Sole

Cafe Sole
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 5/24
8:00 PM
Ranked #75 of 499 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Frances St.
Description: Cafe Sole has captured the hearts and palates of locals and visitors lucky enough to discover this culinary gem off the beaten path. By combining his French mastery of sauces with fresh locally caught seafood, John has created a menu unlike any on the island, where every dish is bursting with indescribable flavors. Mutton snapper in pesto and champagne, yellowtail in a beurre blanc of lobster or a rare hog snapper with red pepper zabaglione top a list of nightly specials. As for the classics, the Duck a L'Orange, Rack of Lamb with herb de Province and Lobster Bouillaise are as authentic as you will find this side of Paris. Chef Correa combines the best of both of his worlds, European and Caribbean to win the People's Choice and Best Entree awards at a recent Master Chefs Classic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined there our first night in Key West. The main course, the hog fish, was fabulous. However, everything else fell short. Our appetizer, the artichoke heart, was mediocre at best. Upon arriving at the restaurant which was pretty empty, the hostess took us to the worst table in the place. We then moved to a nice table by the window. I found that to be a little annoying to begin with. Then, in a basically empty restaurant, they seated a party of 6, 4 adults and two young children, right on top of us. The service was adequate, not outstanding. So, based on our experience, I would not recommend.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

We lived this restaurant. It’s quaint, refined, quiet, pleasant AND the food was incredibly good. I had the chefs famous hog snapper and it was melt in your mouth delicious. We had been sampling key lime pie at every restaurant during our visit and this is absolutely the best we had- light and delicate with a little surprise flavor added. You can’t go wrong eating dinner here.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank geraldinec219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

This place was delicatable!!!! Everything we ordered, best and goat cheese salad, Lobster bisque, and hog snapper was jist unreal. Chocolate pecan was extraordinary as well. Great service, good location

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dunya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We’ve been coming here for at least 10 years, and we haven’t found a better restaurant on Key West proper. Their specialty is hog fish - do not pass up on this present “from the food gods”. The fact that we’ve been going here for over 10 years says it all. Their are more exquisite restaurants in Key West (see Latitudes) but the hog fish at cafe sole is the best meal. While there try the “angels on horse back” appetizer. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ml1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

We have returned year after year to this amazing restaurant & this year was no exception. The staff went out of their way to make this a very special night for us. I can’t say enough good things about the quality of food, service and overall ambience of this establishment! Thank you for a wonderful 10th Anniversary dinner.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank myfloridagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sole also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cafe Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing