We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Square One Restaurant - CLOSED

Square One Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. The Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers. Square One is open every evening for dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Came across the excellent Italian restaurant while taking a short cut from Duval to Truman and decided to come back later for dinner. A lovely setting aware from the business of Duval. Food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Fresh bread and a free sample appetiser was brought out, which was breaded artichokes with parmesan and marinara sauce and was delicious. Very good margarita. I always judge a new restaurant on how many things I'd like to try on the menu and this one had quite a few so if this hadn't been our last night we would have returned to try out some more dishes. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    157
    52
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, MI
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Drinks”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We ate here with another couple on our trip to Key West, and the food was excellent. I had a Salted Caramel Martini that was excellent. Everyone in our group loved their food, our waitress was amazing, we sat outside and just had an overall excellent time at Square One.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebaysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disapppointing, limited choices, high prices”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Did not warrant the prices. Limited dinner choices my scallop appetizer for example, $13 came with 2 scallops - I am not kidding. I would not return. Service was cold (not friendly). Attractive patio area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkitty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“new owners but still great food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

i was surprised when i walked in and saw the updated decor and michael the owner wasnt there to greet me..also the piano was missing..i was then told that michael had recently sold the business..i was excited with anticipation and hoped the food, service and experience would still be top notch...
it was..
it was a slow night and was glad to see my old bartender friend was still there...i ordered a side car...its a tradition there for me..excellent...he told the new owners were great and that i wouldnt be disappointed...he remembered that i always get steak tartare and told me its not on the menu but avail if i asked.
i took my table had a glass of wine.. and asked for the tartare...it was excellent......it was followed by a beet and jicama salad..very good and full of crunch..the entree was a lobster special....i passed on dessert..this is one of my favorite places to dine and hope everyone will give it a try..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xncman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth going to.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Super place for people-watching (whilst enjoying good food and wine). Elegant terrace with elegant clientele and comfortable interior; good, if marginally over-attentive service (for a pair of Brits), but rather this than the surliness often met elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesAndMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing