We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Square One Restaurant - CLOSED

Square One Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. The Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers. Square One is open every evening for dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a fabulous meal at this Square One. I chose to eat inside despite it being a nice night. The decor and ambiance were nice and sophisticated. Best of all it was CLEAN which seems hard to come by in Key West. I had the delicious house salad - just the right amount of dressing. Also ordered the duck. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElevenThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thanks for sharing your "excellent" adventure in dining. We hope to see you at Square One again.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 660 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went for the newly initiated 555 Happy Hour. Prices were good but portions were small even for small plates. Hopefully, the lack of knowledge by the waiter for times of happy hour and dinner was due to lack of experience. The decor is amazing inside and out. Recent updates to this restaurant should draw the crowds as prices are standard Key West but the ambiance is far above average. Good service, great menu and friendly atmosphere.

Thank LindaW2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thanks for visiting and sharing your experience. We apologize for the confusion regarding the new Happy Hour, based on your review date it is clear you likely experienced one of the very early days of 555 HH. We hope you'll give it another try and perhaps we earned a second chance?

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have been coming to KW for 20 years and never tried this place. Had heard good things and decided to try it. First, the waiter, John, was attentive and very helpful with our selections. The food was excellent and dessert was outstanding. Talked to other diners, which we always do, and they said the small plates were really good and left room for the desserts. The Curry and Short Ribs had us licking the plate. The Key Lime Pie was 6 inches tall and one of the best in the city. The Raspberry sorbet with white chocolate was ti die for. We all agreed we would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Thanks for acknowledging our very gracious server, John. The Key Lime pie you mentioned earned 3rd place in the international Key Lime Pie Festival competition last year. This summer we hope to earn FIRST!

Namaste,
Michael,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have been living in Key West for two years and only just recently tried Square One. Everything was delicious and the service was top notch. The decor in the restaurant looked great and a nice change from a typical Key West "bar/restaurant". We started with mussels which were the best I have ever had. They were served in a delicious creamy, curry sauce with cilantro garnish. For the main dish I had the shrimp and risotto and my husband enjoyed the black grouper. We will be back there soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarlaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thanks for visiting Square One, New American Table. Local artist Marky Pierson is responsible for much of the art on our walls and currently has a show of his work at The Customs House Museum, next the the Westin Resort on Front St., Key West. Please check it out if you have time.
We are very appreciative of your kind remarks.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great outdoor seating, good food and great service. We got there a little early for dinner service, but Happy Hour was going on. They gave us a great table, brought us some drinks and something to snack on and we just relaxed the 30 minutes until we could order. We have eaten here on past trips and always make a point of dining at Square ONE. love this place.

Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are grateful for your loyal patronage as you watch Square One evolve into a more eclectic and global culinary experience.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing