We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great”
Review of Square One Restaurant - CLOSED

Square One Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. The Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers. Square One is open every evening for dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
Eustis, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was great”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We kinda off stumbled onto this place we were wanting to each at Blue Heaven and would have had two hour wait. So we decided to head back to Square One as it was close to condo we were staying in. We had reviewed the menu as we walked past earlier in the day and decided to give it a try. We were seated right away they have indoor and outddoor seating. We chose in door. Staff were very pleasant and helpfull in our choses. We very much enjoyed our meals. We will be back and we will tell others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamisuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thanks for returning to Square One, whether it was a stumble or not. :) We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your meal and hope you'll return soon,

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    157
    52
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

So hard to decide where to eat in Key West. So many options. Strolling down Duvall we happened to spy this little restaraunt kind of in a nice little alley way off the main drag. Looked nice and the menu had some good choices. So we gave it a try. We were pleasantly greeted and we opted to sit outside on the patio. We soon discovered that this had one little annoyance. There are big Macaw birds perched near the outside patio and they are not quiet. It was kind of like sitting next to someone who just unexpectedly and randomly let's out a shriek. Quite unnerving actually. But we decided to stay and hope it subsided.

I was in one of those "can't decide because several things sounded delicious" moods, so I asked the server to tell the chef to surprise me. Now this can be dangerous because, being a server myself, there is often something you are told to "push" that meal because it is time to get rid of it. But I took a chance.

Oddly enough I was served the beef short rib which is probably one of the last things I would have ordered. But it was very good. Could have used a better selection of "root vegetables" which it advertised. Mostly what I got was potatoes. Nonetheless it was good. My husband loves pork belly so he was happy to see it on the menu and that's what he ordered and he was pleased.

The server was attentive but not full of personality. He was more interested in the table next to us which seemed to host people which appeared to be friends of his. But he was not unpleasant in any way.

I would like to return someday and try their breakfast menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcolburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your visit and review. We do not serve breakfast, only dinner. But please return for dinner, you are always welcome at Square One.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The restaurant is a bit aside from the street which is great as no cars are passing by. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and the service was efficient and friendly the whole time. The food is innovative and very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Square One is about 50 meters from Duval St. in a quiet courtyard called Duval Square.
Thanks for your very kind comments.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trying something new!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well, the menu is very appealing and they do have great specials until 6pm, however, we were not told until we were seated that they would not serve or make any dinner items until that time as well. The drinks were great, the food was okay. Nothing to write home about. Very friendly service though. Maybe I was just expecting more than I should have as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are grateful for your visit and comments. Square One now offers the complete menu when we open at 5pm. No more waiting until 6p for dinner. We listened. Please offer us another opportunity to serve you.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

From 4-6 they have $5 apps. We had curry mussels, flat bread and venison black bean dish they were good but the flat bread was whatever..they gave us delicious bread too. We also had $5 cocktails. For dinner we got grouper with truffles, garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. The irish female server recommended this and it was amazing. It also was not on the menu. So happy she told us about it. She was really friendly and gave us great service. can not order from the regular menu during happy hour so good around 5:30 if u want $5 apps and cocktails then order dinner at 6pm if u are still hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for leaving your very kind remarks.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing