We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefining Fine Dining”
Review of Square One Restaurant - CLOSED

Square One Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. The Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers. Square One is open every evening for dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Square One is one of my all time favorite restaurants. It recently came under new ownership, and the new menu is out of this world. The wine is delicious and a refreshing compliment to the mozzarella salad (which is my absolute favorite!). Tonight I treated myself to the pine crusted yellowtail snapper with zucchini fritters, which was divine. But the real star of the show was the dessert - the chocolate torte with chipotle chocolate sauce drizzled in strawberry pop rocks. Its absolutely delectable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

To make the "all time favorite restaurant list" for you is high praise indeed. Thanks so much from
all of us at Square One. Our menu and specials change frequently so please return and try us again. Delicious surprises await.

Namaste,
Guest Relations
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 660 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the best ever! My wife and I travel extensively…. New York, California, Europe, and this is one of best meals ever. So good, we returned again the next night. The food is wonderful quality at a reasonable price. Go and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank padcock1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are grateful for your very kind recommendation of Square One, New American Table.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family of 4 which includes toe teens ages 19 and 16 (who is a vegetarian) enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Square One. We ate outside and were greeted by the wonderful hostess. Our waiter was friendly and so attentive. Our meals were delicious. I had the special which was pineapple encrusted grouper with grilled shrimp on linguine. It was delicious. Just excellent food and servic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sharon2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

The entire staff at Square One is completely dedicated to serving delicious, flavorful food in kind, professional style. Thanks for bringing your family and sampling from a variety of entrees. We hope to see you in Duval Square again.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best if not THE best one we ate at on our trip to Key West. My Husband and I shared the Tuna special with Mac n Cheese and there wasn't one bite left. The food was Excellent and the homemade Key Lime Pie was the bomb. It's an upscale atmosphere and is a bit expensive so if you're looking for something cheap, this isn' the place for you. It is well worth the money we paid!!!! It's hiding in a shopping center near the end of Duval street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Spekjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you. Our Key Lime Pie and pastry chef Denise won 3rd place in Key West's 1st annual International Key Lime Pie Festival just last week. The competition was tremendous and we're
very pleased to receive such an honor.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We dined at Square One, and enjoyed both their salads and their small plates - you can order a variety of small plates (mussels, calamari, crabcakes) and relax at a quiet outdoor table away from the Duval street crowds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RicSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We're pleased you found refuge at Square One from the madding crowds along Duval St.
Thanks for thinking of us and sharing your experience.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing