We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salute! On The Beach

Salute! On The Beach
Ranked #55 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
LA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 5 days in Key West over Labor Day. This is the only place we ate at twice. The fish is selected daily so the menu changes. I had a grilled greak tuna salad. The tuna was sushi grade and just seared on the out side. It was so good that I asked about it the second time, but our server informed us that there was more Mahi that day. So I had a sandwich. I'm not a big fan of Mahi, but this one was very moist. I normally find that fish dry. It was the best. This resturant is also off the path and on the beach. It is perfect if you have a scooter and get to the Higgs beach at 9AM to rent beach chairs for $20 (probably the best bargin in Key West). If you read other reviews about Higgs beach it is also a good place for free snorkling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdcypress1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    475
    118
    37
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Salute!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I went here on the first night of our honeymoon because it was close to our B&B. She got the mussels which they get from Prince Edward Island. She thought it was very tasty, but thought it was a bit overpriced. But, it is right on the beach so that gives it a boost. No free refills on my lemonade which was a bummer, but they did have the best lemonade of the restaurants that we tried. I had the Key West pink shrimp with pasta and red sauce. It was very filling and I thought it was fresh and tasty. They also had fresh bread which was served before the meal. Being right on the beach was nice for the view, but bad for the birds that were out in full force. Customers would feed the birds and so naturally, the birds seem to have made the restaurant a hang out spot. All in all, it was a great way to spend the first night of our honeymoon, but it is also pricey. I think it ended up costing us $60 with tip included.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Right on Beach-Right on Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have had many great meals at this little restaurant right on the sand while we watched the volley ball players and the yogis working out nearby.
Freshest fish with great vegetables & salads...friendly, efficient waiters like Kelly...He couldn't have been more accommodating this visit! Good menu, wine selection...real Key West feel without all the hoopla and crowds of downtown. (Nearby our favorite Doubletree by Hilton Hotels Grand Key Resort Key West) Enjoy the live music, walk to the nearby pier after dinner, and enjoy the quieter side of the island!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent location right on the beach. Most of us had burgers which were very good. The lunch menu isn't that big but the options are all great. The service was very good as well, overall 5/5!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“this is the perfect spot for a day at the beach in Key West.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The restaurant is litterly on the beach, with friendly service and great fresh local dishes with Italian style. The price range is about $25.00 per person at lunch. This is a great spot for a yummy lunch at the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salute! On The Beach also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Salute! On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing