We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good service”

New York Pasta Garden
Ranked #15 of 444 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Ask any local The Pasta Garden has the best seafood, tropical cocktails and the friendliest staff in Key West. Tropical Garden dining and live beautiful Parrots to entertain you while you eat! "FREE WIFI AND OFFSTREET PARKING!" Also we are one of the best caterers in the Key's. Up to 150 people at our venue or yours. Best prices for full bar in the Keys.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is set back from Duval street in a pedestrian shopping walk-through. It is in the middle of some trees and has a couple of noisy, but friendly parrots overseeing proceedings. it was warm but the fans make sure you stay comfortable should you wish to eat outside (which we did). My wife had Tortellini and I had one of the daily specials, the Seafood Lasagne.

The service was really good. The guy who seated us made sure we had the table of our choice and even angled the fan to make sure we had just the right breeze. Our waiter was quick and attentive but struck the right balance between leaving us to enjoy or meal and company and being on hand when we wanted him.

The food was great with fresh well-cooked pasta and really lovely sauces.

I read a couple of reviews on here about soggy pasta and not being 'New York' style. Well for me that is just rubbish. This was freshly prepared pasta and not some dried/boiled stuff and often when people complain of soggy pasta, what they are actually tasting is fresh pasta for the first time. I lived in Italy for 7 months so I hope I 'know my onions'.

I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoungeLizardLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,325
    484
    131
    61
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Ask for Jeannette! Food is delicious. Place is off of Duval, little bit hard to find. Circle around the block to find parking

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurgicalNurseRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Unexpected Excellence”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had been in Key West for 5 days, dining at the most recommended restaurants from long time local residents and some frequent vacationers we have known. We were staying near Truman and Simonton and happened to walk through Duval Square after a marvelous dinner at Camille’s. We passed by the NY Pasta Garden and the dishes on display looked quite appetizing. After a brief conversation with the Host we thought this may be on our list as a back up during our 8 day stay. We walked everywhere during our stay, so one early evening with very tired feet; we both decided that with such a short walk, let's give them a try.

The outdoor dining is one of the nicest we encountered during our stay and while it seemed like we got off to a slow start with the wait staff, our waiter Myles stepped up with a very warm relaxed manor, guided us through some specials, and took our orders. He returned in a reasonable time with our two drinks, a Cosmopolitan and spicy Bloody Mary which were excellent, in slightly larger glasses than typical, fully filled, and perfectly mixed (I’m a former bartender). We later learned he mixes his own drinks and has many years experience with proper mixing.

The appetizer of Mussels Brooklyn Style was quite a surprise with the inclusion of some thinly sliced sausage, red and green peppers and onions, small julienne style. The broth was excellent with thin sliced caramelized garlic and mussels cooked to perfection.

Our main courses of Seafood Lasagna and Grouper Ala Lola (pan seared with crusted basil pesto). The later was fresh, perfectly cooked and the combination of a sweet basil pesto was delicious. The surprise was the Seafood Lasagna which was a specialty for the night and included lobster, shrimp and scallops in a light tomato cream sauce. The ricotta and mozzarella filling with al dente pasta ribbons, and more than ample portions of seafood layered in made this dish a total epicurean surprise. I gladly assisted my wife in finishing off the large portion.

Our waiter allowed us to relax and did not rush us even though we decided desert would be a bit much. But the wife had to inquire and fresh made Tiramisu was chosen when the method of preparation (true Italian layered cake method) was described. The proper use of fresh Mascarpone cheese, strong espresso, dark rum and very dark chocolate was equal to the finest enjoyed in New York and San Francisco. Let’s just say that wonderful aroma and flavor to the tongue and palate was marvelous.

We knew Key West would not disappoint us with great dining experiences for every meal, but of all the marvelous restaurants and meals enjoyed, from the start to finish - food, table service, and ambiance this one evening exceeded our expectations (Thank you Myles) and deserves one of my very few dining reviews. Hopefully, you will have an equally enjoyable experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent choice”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A great experience! Food was great, atmosphere was great, and service was excellent.

My wife ordered the eggplant, which they were out if, but enjoyed the stuffed shells. The salad was simple yet flavorful, and the bread with the garlic crust was great. I ordered the tortellini with pancetta and Parmesan. The flavored were all very complimentary, and a unique taste. Dessert was a cannoli, which was the perfect ending,

The atmosphere and service were top notch. A few yards off if Duvall Street make all the difference with a romantic evening. The trees, lights, and attention we received from our server Rodrigo made this a fantastic evening

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damon826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, MO
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience because of Tommy”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We wanted to eat off of Duval street and looked at the menu for New York Pasta Garden. The menu was appealing but we also liked the ambience a great deal. However, while the food was phenomenal (garlic bread and lasagna were wonderful) what made this memorable was the service. Tommy took excellent care of us. He took multiple pictures of my husband and I and made certain the food was perfect. Highly recommend. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Majac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Pasta Garden also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to New York Pasta Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing