We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky little place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mo's Restaurant

Mo's Restaurant
Ranked #141 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky little place, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stewed conch with rice! Oxtail and gravy! Really good food, inexpensive and served by nice people. Really a good choice for "off the beaten path" dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grownupgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    57
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
734 reviews
575 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Friendly owners and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our group always stops at Mo's during our Bike Pub Crawl. This year was no exception. They are always glad to see us and really seem to appreciate the afternoon business (slow time for them). Looking for a Caribbean treat then head to Mo's. Their food is fresh and tasty. It's a small place off the beaten path, but with a great attitude.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is my type of place. Cute & charming with a lot of history and flavor.
Haitian cuisine at its best!
We went there for lunch and were very pleased with everything.
Their homemade lemonade is very refreshing (they add some almond extract).
We ordered 2 of the fish specials (one grouper & one snapper) and a grouper sandwich. Portions were very generous, fish was fresh and cooked perfectly. The sauce was amazing and their spicy pickled cabbage is off the hook!
Will definitely be stopping by again, on my next visit to Key West.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isa02pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food in great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had not been to Mo's since the previous owners and were very pleased with our entire experience for lunch. Its a great little spot and you can really tell the owner takes pride in his cuisine. When we pulled up on our bikes, all of Bob Marley's hits were streaming through (major bonus :) There were a good number of specials that all sounded awesome.

I decided on the red snapper sandwich and loved it, the fish was done perfectly. Though, I have to say my husband made the best choice with the Oxtail. OMG. It was so, so good and the flavors and smells from the kitchen are something to be experienced. My husband is a CIA trained chef and said it was the best he had ever had. Overall, a superb visit and we can't wait to return on our next visit. Thanks!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderLusty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food in a hole in the wall space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing dinner while in key west. I had the snapper which was served with sautéed veggies and rice and beans. The sauce was tasty but delicate and the fish was cooked perfectly.

My friend had the chicken casserole which was chicken with pasta and mushrooms cooked in a casserole dish with a cream/cheese sauce. It was very good.

The atmosphere isn't fancy but the food is well made and a fantastic value! Next time I am in key west I will definitely be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo's Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing