We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great taste of Cuban food”

El Siboney Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great taste of Cuban food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I worked in Miami for about 10 years and had Cuban food whenever I wanted it. Sometimes even homemade by people at work who would make something and bring it in to share. Now that I live in Orlando I haven't found a good let alone a great place. We asked around and everyone we talked to suggested El Siboney for great food. We walked there and found a small brick building on a corner lot. Inside, there was like room after room of tables. The place is larger than it looks. You kind of need to know a little about the food in order to select something from their menu. But the menu is broken down into categories: pork, beef, chicken, seafood, etc. I ordered the roast pork (puerco asado). My friends ordered the ropa vieja and vaca frita. A basket of grilled buttered Cuban bread was delivered. The plates arrived with a good sized mound of yellow rice and a small bowl of black beans. The vaca frita is what it is: roasted shredded beef that is dry. The ropa vieja (old clothes) was perfectly seasoned beef, slightly wet. My puerco asado was chunks of roast pork with onions flavored with lime juice. Pour the black beans onto the yellow rice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We loved this detailed feedback, Donald -- it's always a pleasure to hear from a well-versed Cuban food fan! We're so glad you listened to those recommendations and gave our place a try. We hope it's not long before you're back down from Orlando -- for more of that Ropa Vieja, if nothing else!

Cheers,
El Siboney Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,210
    954
    247
    90
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very good black beans and boliche sandwich. Good prices, good service. Found it while out for a bike ride...would recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmurff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
So glad you discovered us on that bike ride -- no better way to refuel that with a nice big Boliche Sandwich, right?! We'd love to see you again when you're next down from South Carolina -- here's hoping we can earn that final star from you next time!

Cheers,
El Siboney Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Cuban Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

The food was fresh and delicious. The black beans were incredible! Generous portions, and reasonable prices. Highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We're pumped that you loved those black beans, Cyndi, as well as our generous portions! Thanks a million for following up with us here on TripAdvisor. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,
El Siboney Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious pork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I read previous reviews and knew we had to come here. Delicious pork and yuca!! The interior is not fancy or overdone which is gives it an authentic feel. I would absolutely go back the next time we come down.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela224587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
It's awesome to know our reviews brought you to our table, Angela, and that we lived up to your expectations! You did a great job of summing up what we're all about, too -- a laid-back vibe with some knockout Cuban dishes. We can't wait to welcome you back next time!

Cheers,
El Siboney Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We first thought we could walk there from our hotel at the KW harbor, but the 95 degree temp convinced to take a taxi. It was sure worth the trip. Food was great. I had the Siboney flank steak. It was honestly one of the best steaks I have eaten. There was plenty of food on the side as well. Service was good. We did have to wait but it was only an half hour and we got drinks from the bar while we waited.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laxatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio D, Owner at El Siboney Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
One of the best steaks you've ever had? That's music to our ears! It's wonderful to know our generous portions and efficient service hit the spot for you guys, and we hope it won't be long before we get to welcome you back. Call ahead for our Paella Valenciana next time -- we promise you won't regret it!

Cheers,
El Siboney Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Siboney Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Siboney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing