We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time”

El Siboney Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had been to El Siboney several times before on a previous vacation, so we made a bee-line there as soon early in this vacation. This time we were disappointed though with food that was 'eh'. Maybe it was just that night. We'll try once more when we get back to Key West

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,339
    987
    259
    94
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Within minutes we felt like part of a big Cuban family with Mama coming over to say hello. My 1yr old was covered in yummy yummy black beans. I had the pork plate and it was cook perfectly. We got a Cuban sandwich to go and although good was not pulled pork but deli meats. My pork dinner plate was the best!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The place to eat in Key West”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a flank steak that was juicy and flavorful. The avocado salad appetizer reminded me that I was in a tropical climate. The price for the dinner couldn't be beat.

What else can I ask for?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Now I know I love Cuban food!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Never had it before but after reading the reviews, we knew we wanted to try Cuban food. Parking would have been difficult but we got a spot just as someone was leaving. I had ropa vieja and now I want to try to make it at home. Loved the rice and beans too, and I'm really not a bean eater. The bread was delicious. Plaintains, not so much, but that's just personal preference, not a comment against the preparation. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The preparation was simple, and tha is precisely what made our Group dinner so great ... It was lightly sauteed, yet very flavorful. We also enjoyed the yellow rice, black bean soup, cuban bread and plantains. This was a great find, and we highly recommend going there!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnKare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Siboney Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Siboney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing