We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch for the Green Flash”

Schooner Spirit of Independence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're sailing out of Key West bringing a lifetime of History and Adventure aboard. The focus will be a fun safe unforgettable sail. Sail Key West with us on a ship builder's masterpiece the Spirit of Independence. Sunset Sails, also available for special events.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a great time aboard this vessel sailing into the sunset.
The crew and captain were fun and informative.
We all talked about the Green Flash that sometimes happens when the sun set.

Thank Cheyenne30523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
428ricks, Owner at Schooner Spirit of Independence, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Cheyenne I have been away so sorry for late response , lately clouds have caused no green flash. Many people say there is no such thing , but I promise there IS , we see it often , its very fast just as sun disappears . I hope we had one the night you sailed Captain Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 349 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Fun and informative, we thoroughly enjoyed our time aboard the Spirit of Independence with Captain Ricky and his crew, Jeremiah and Dayana. Great food, drink and fellowship while learning some of the history of Key West. We would highly recommend this and will definitely do it again on our return trips!

Thank Chick0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Schooner Spirit of Independence, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Chick Thanks to the crew that night fro Georgia and Orlando, Ya'll made it a great night Thanks Capt Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic cruise. We checked out all the sunset cruises and this one was the highlight of our trip. Not over crowded, crew dressed the part and were fabulous and full of good stories, the food was a perfect mixture of cheese, fruit and gourmet sandwiches along with good wine. You can not go wrong booking this,

Thank chefinstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Schooner Spirit of Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Chefinstructor Thanks for nice review , You sailed with us on an extra good week, it was the night of the pirate ball , and that night was a really fun crew. I'm glad you sailed during a great week, we all had a ball !!! Thanks Capt Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Captain gave lots of history of the Keys during the tour. Sunset was spectacular. If you go to the Keys, make this one of your items to do. Champagne and sunset, great combination.

Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Schooner Spirit of Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Peggy Thanks for nice review. Glad You joined us on a great night. Also I heard you visited our favorite restaurant and said nice things !!!!!!!! You made my day , Thanks Capt Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not overly crowded, crew has an outstanding personality and service, food was great and the captain, Rick, entertains and runs a great ship. I would personally pay double their price for the same experience!

Thank NimArkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Schooner Spirit of Independence, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

NIM Thanks for great review , last night again was cloudy BUT we had perfect sailing winds, great passengers, which makes a way better than average trip . If you were part of the family aboard last night you are very lucky, great people . THANK YOU Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Spirit of Independence also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Spirit of Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing