We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner on Duval” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar

Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #211 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Olivia
Transit: Located on the south corner of the block
Description: nine one five bistro and wine bar is located in a magnificent Victorian house: circa 1850. Since opening in 2002 we have received national & international acclaim with 2 James Beard Foundation invitations. The food is simple fare prepared properly - no fuss just great food with an international wine list to back it up. We look forward to seeing you.
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner on Duval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a great boat ride my wife and I decided to stop at Point 5 for a light dinner. What a great decision. The menu has changed a bit since we were last there (mostly home made great pizzas) but we decided to have the shrimp, tuna tartare and the fries. Everything was fantastic! We sat right on the front of the balcony with our wine and food and loved every bite and sip. See you again in Feb!

Helpful?
Thank JLBDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    9
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pizzas and view of Duval”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I wanted a quick bite and a drink, and this place was perfect. We went upstairs to the bar / porch area which was great for people watching, listening to music, and sharing the very good flatbread, and mezze appetizers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nine One Five was recommended by a local, Jimmy who does bicycle tours out of Easton St. Bikes. We wanted a light bite one evening and Point 5 was just around the corner. We walked up the stairs in to the bar area. There was a large wooden bar in the main room, and we could see tables on the deck outside. The bartender/owner said to find a table where we liked, so we went on outside. YIKES! The deck felt sort of scary. tilted down toward the street, but it seemed sturdy enough. We chose a table and sat. In a few minutes the bartender came out and gave us menus. There were two featured drinks that included "home made" ingredients. Home made tonic water in the Gin and Tonic and home made ginger beer in the Moscow Mule. My husband ordered the gin and tonic, I the Moscow mule. Husband wasn't very hungry so I chose the Mezze plate, passing over the tasty looking pizzas on the menu. Our drinks were served.
The gin and tonic was rosy in color - a special Rose gin was the other ingredient. The drink had a tasty and unique flavor. My mule was good, but nothing to write home about. The mezze plate. Hmmm. The stuffed grape leaves were a fail. The rice stuffing was quite hard, not under cooked hard, but stored in the refrigerator too long hard. The other items were good.

It was nice to watch people walking by, and the Nine One Five diners on the patio below us. A gal had ordered the whole fish special, she was a bit taken aback at first, but soon dug in and seemed to enjoy it.

Our service was aggravatingly slow. The owner seemed to be the only person waiting on the tables and a couple other locals were inside at the bar chatting with him. Apparently, shooting the breeze with locals takes precedence over customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stopped in and were very surpised by the great food. My bf had shrimp and said it was amazing. I had the goat cheese tart and it was delicious. Reasonably priced, too. Very good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for late dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Went for a late dinner. The flatbread pizzas were really good. Nice to sit upstairs on the front deck and watch Duvall Street.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrismurphy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing