We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big hit with our vegan family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place

The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place
Ranked #22 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A big hit with our vegan family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We dined here twice on our recent trip to Key West. Our family is mostly vegan and they had many great options including vegan key lime cheese cake. Yum! One thing that they do here that is a little quirky is that the tofu is served in giant slabs instead of smaller chunks. My kids thought that was pretty funny. I only gave it 4 stars because our server on the second visit kept forgetting we were in the back room.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelLite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    272
    44
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Pretty Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went back here many times during our last visit and the service was so much better. Maybe the few times last visit were just during a bad spot? Maybe it was us? Anyway, the food is always fantastic and the service was WONDERFUL!! The people that helped us were kind and accommodating. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clemenscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Fresh & Flavorful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently spent 6 days in Key West. Our lunch at The Cafe was by far the best meal we had! A local shopkeeper recommended the place to our family (consisting of 3 teenagers, all meat-eaters). The food was fresh and flavorfull. We enjoyed everything from the fish sandwich to quiche. The bean side salad was delicious. The watermelon/cucumber/lime juice was superb and really hit the spot on a hot, humid day. The cafe has a cool, welcoming, calm atmosphere... a nice haven from hot, busy Duval street. This is a restaurant for all to enjoy, vegetarians and meat-eaters alike!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SSmerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Vegan& Vegatarian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I tried the un-wing dings and they were pretty good, the sweet potato fries are excellent with a curry- lime sauce, the Edamame is good, and their salads. I love their blackened tuna sandwich with mango sauce. The flavors are what makes the dishes and you really can't tell they non meat or at least to me.
The pleasant staff and atmosphere makes me feel at home and the price is reasonable. I highly recommend this place. I sometimes want to take a break once in a while and only eat vegetables.
Th Cafe is has Gluten Free items, they do delivery and take out, they are wheelchair friendly, and as with all businesses they accept major credit cards, and catering available. located on Southard st. open 11 am to 10 pm

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vegan Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a vegan friendly establishment and the food is delicious! My hubs is not vegan but thoroughly enjoyed his food. The only bummer is no outdoor seating but it's really a great place and the food is second to none!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing