We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent veggie food in the heart of Key West” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place

The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place
Ranked #22 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent veggie food in the heart of Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Key West isn't particularly well known for its cuisine but this place can hold its head up with the best when it comes to vegetarian options. Tasty, imaginative food. Given how difficult it can be to get a plate of healthy food in the US, this is a great place to stock up on some fibre and vitamins! But you'll get a delicious, enjoyable meal too. We had the fig and gorgonzola pizza and a seitan stir-fry. Both fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PF2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    272
    44
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy yum and great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had the thai red curry. It was great! Also, do try their awesome lemonade and the vegan chocolate mocha cake! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sharkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great veggie restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Finally, a place that isn't full of a bunch of junk food. Had a refreshing sandwich with bean salad, so good. Wish I could give this place 5 stars but the service was not that great. Waitress seemed like she just didn't care. I would have liked to have ordered dessert but waitress just gave us our check. I will definitely go back because I am vegetarian, but would not if I ate normal food due to the lackluster service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The only vegetarian restaurant in key west.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a good place to eat if you are a vegetarian. There are a few dishes which have fish, but most of the dishes are purely vegetarian. The quesidillas were yummy and so was the dessert. A must visit place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ami461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not just veggies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were actually looking for a breakfast place but decided to stop in here for an early lunch. The décor is very lively, almost Caribbean and the seating is comfortable. Service was fast and attentive. Although this place is mostly vegetarian, they also offer several fish and chicken options. I had intended to stick with the veggies but decided to try the seared tuna sandwich with fruit salsa instead. It was very tasty. It came with a fairly large side of bean salad which I also enjoyed. My husband had the Mahi sandwich and he chose to have his with french fries. It was good as well. My only negative would be that the prices seemed a little high. In addition to the sandwiches my husband had a root beer and I had a juice spritzer and our total bill without tip was $36. Not exorbitant but perhaps a little high for two sandwiches and two drinks for lunch. Still, we had first rate sandwiches and excellent service and we will visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing