We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Fresh Seafood”
Review of Half Shell Raw Bar

Half Shell Raw Bar
Order Online
Ranked #82 of 499 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A Taste of Old Key West! Traditional Key West Raw Bar & great Key West seafood restaurant! Oysters, clams, shrimp, more! A low key restaurant for casual lunch or dinner. Settle down to an informal atmosphere, local characters, great bar and waterfront dining. It's a little piece of Old Key West on the historic Key West Bight.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

After visiting Key West for the past 11 years, I always wanted to have dinner at the Half Shell. My husband and I usually would stop in for a cold beer but never dinner. This trip we made sure we did just that. We were lucky enough to stop in during happy hour which includes 1/2 price appetizers. We shared a dozen oysters, buffalo shrimp and calamari and it was excellent. We still had room for their hogfish dinner. My husband had the entree style while I had it prepared over a flavorful caesar salad. All and all we would definitely come back for fresh seafood, I am just wishing we would have tried it sooner.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

That is okay we will be here the next time you visit, thank you for taking the time to write a review...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 390 of 2,482 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

We eat here each time we come to Key West. The food is good to above average and we like to bring our dog to the outside seating but the service is usually poor to average at best. But this time we had Becky. She was fantastic and made our experience the best ever! We will be sure to ask for Becky next time!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thanks for the review...we must be doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

We have been here many times. Service is always friendly and quick. The food is amazingly fresh. The prices are great. We love the comfortable relaxed atmosphere. I hope they never change and cannot wait to visit again.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank dawnt243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

We love customers like you, do not worry we will not change we are still using some of our original recipes and overall the Half Shell has not changed much since 1972. We just gotten a little larger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed the dinner we had very much. Also had a lot of fun sitting on the deck feeding all the fish.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank briandH3479BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thanks we are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

This place is really just a nice tourist trap. But, our children live in the mid-west and can't get decent seafood. Figured we'd give it a shot. We found it to be on the high end-but the food was good. The portions are medium to small per serving. I don't regret giving it a shot - Not sure I'd go back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 820peria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobbyK528, General Manager at Half Shell Raw Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thanks for giving us a shot but rest assure we have not been around since 1972 by being a tourist trap. We keep our prices as low as possible but we serve fresh local seafood and those prices are more expensive then the frozen seafood you might be use to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Raw Bar also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Half Shell Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing