We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interesting Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe's Cafe

Pepe's Cafe
806 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6643
+1 305-294-7192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 428 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't let the exterior deter you. Food and service were good. A varied menu, but not a lot of seafood. Offers steaks, pork, fish, and lobster. Good choice of vegetables for sides. We had fish, Pepe's Style, but it was a little bland for our taste (was expecting more spice). Very causal atmosphere. The manager/host made a point of speaking to everyone as they came in and left.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nc4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    566
    169
    95
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Like other reviewers say, this place doesn't look like it's worth going to...but you need to try it! I got a fish sandwich and it was so good. Great drinks, great food... sitting on the patio was a wonderful Key West experience. Would defintely recommend to others!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nonnalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“best spanish food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

not the nicest looking place, but the food is amazing,,, i love that at the bar, we ate with 2 dogs,, and i shared my shrimp, with a homeless/guest cat called billybob...GET THE BLACK BEAN SOUP

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dor207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“funky but good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is a little out of the way, but the food was good (had blackened hog fish) and there's lots of history.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We usually have lunch at Pepes. This visit we had breakfast, I ordered the short stack of pancakes and could not finish them, but I really wanted to save room for key lime pie. I have had key lime pie in many places in key west, but Pepes has the best! I spoke to Shelly about how she makes it. A bit different! But thats why it tastes so good. Service was excellent as always. We will be back! Love that pie!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank frogFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe's Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Pepe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing