We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, but afterwards you need a breather”

Margaritaville Key West
Ranked #140 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Margaritaville is great fun and the food is always good. Adore the MASSIVE Volcano Nachos and the ribs are excellent considering the type of place this is.

But if you want a long, quiet evening with your spouse, go elsewhere. We'd been here before and they can't wait to shove food in front of you as quickly as possible to get you fed and out again, but I asked our excellent server not to put the order in for the entree until we'd finished the appetizer and she was true to her word and we spaced the meal out nicely.

Prices (especially drinks) are high enough to make you suck air through your teeth, especially when you think of the type of food they serve - not exactly Michelin star stuff, although good quality and certainly plentiful.

But go there as a one-off, enjoy the music on the huge video screens and take in the atmosphere and you'll have a blast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Kentish-Steve - Thank you for all your visits! We truly appreciate you and your valuable feedback. We never want our guests to feel rushed, so we will address that with the team. Overall we are happy you can count on us for great food, drinks and fun and we hope to see you again soon.

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,227 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went in 2007 while on a cruise. Loved it! Family oriented during daytime hours. Burgers, nachos, loaded potatoes among the favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mrscindyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

mrscindyk - Thank you for coming in during your cruise stop! We are very happy you had a wonderful experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was looking forward to visiting THE Margaritaville in Key West. Not impressed but tried to keep in mind this was the original place. It was obviously very outdated and had a funky odor but we sat down at a nice corner table right by the windows. I ordered a margarita and it was good but my friend hardly touched her drink. Ordered 2 virgin drinks for the teens and the price was the same with or without alcohol. The bill was about $50 for 4 drinks and one appetizer. Pricey I thought but it was worth it for one time. I don't feel the need or desire to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kloverfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

kloverfield - It is very upsetting to know we failed to exceed all of your expectations. We sincerely apologize. Since we are the original we hold ourselves to very high standards and will take all of your comments to heart.

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Disappointing. The hubs loves margarita's so it was definitely on the to do list. We visited around 11:30 am, crowded and very loud already. We went there to buy several of the "Booze in the Blender" souvenir cups (which are not cheap, even empty). Donnie said the frozen margarita was very good though. We had yell over everybody and try to squeeze in between shoulder to shoulder people at the bar to buy them and the bartender was very rude and unfriendly (considering the mmoney we were shelling out on the cups). We left and said it was not what we expected and have no interest in re-visiting Margaretville. It's too bad, we like Jimmy Buffet's music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Tammy P - We are very sorry this is the experience you and your husband had with us. We truly value all of our customers and our guests should never leave feeling the way you describe here. Your valuable comments will be addressed with the team and we do hope you give us another try to earn back your business the next time you're in the area.

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

When you visit this cafe, remember it was the first. There aren't as many fun things as at other Margaritavilles but it's still a place you want to visit. At least once. Like all Margaritavilles, it's pretty expensive. After all, Jimmy has to get his cut, right? Lunch for 3 was more than $75.

My wife's crab cake sandwich was excellent. First class. She enjoyed her onion rings too. Our guest had the black and bleu burger. It was a monster (should be at more than $12) and perfectly prepared. I, of course, had fish. A Mahi-mahi sandwich. It was outstanding ($18) and almost too huge to finish. Almost.

Overall, as I said, it's a place everyone should visit. Directly across the street, however, you can get food about as good for about 1/2 the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville Key West, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

John K - Thank you for coming in for lunch! We are very happy you, your wife and your guest all enjoyed our fun atmosphere and food - it's wonderful to know you all left full! We hope to see you back for more great times the next time you're in the area.

Margaritaville Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville Key West also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Margaritaville Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing