We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable overpriced meal.”

Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill
Ranked #146 of 446 Restaurants in Key West
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located at 301 Whitehead St., on the corner of Whitehead and Caroline, stands one of Key West's most impressive and historic buildings - Kelly's Caribbean. Well known for being the birthplace of Pan American World Airways, Pan-Am's first tickets were sold out of this very building in 1927. Pan Am was the principal and largest international air carriers in the United States from 1927 until its collapse on December 4, 1991. Founded in 1927 as a scheduled air mail and passenger service operating between Key West, Florida and Havana, Cuba, the airline became a major company credited with many innovations that shaped the international airline industry, including the widespread use of jet aircraft, jumbo jets and computerized reservation systems. Our Namesake - Kelly McGillis Kelly's was opened in 1992 by Fred Tillman and Actress, Kelly McGillis. We are proud to carry Kelly McGillis' name! Noted for her various movie roles - Top Gun, Witness, The Accused - Kelly now resides in North Carolina but she does keep a watchful eye on the Kelly's Caribbean. Should you stop on by Kelly's Caribbean...we do have her Top Gun Jacket in the "Crash Bar" area.
Viera, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Unremarkable overpriced meal.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stopped here for dinner while looking for a place not on Duval. The ambience was quite nice and the Pan Am displays were interesting. The food was good but quite overpriced. The ceviche was excellent. The kids' burger okay (a mediocre bun). The mahi was very good and the scallops were average. The chicken on the caesar salad was overcooked and dry. The red ale and wheat beer were unimpressive. The margarita seemed alcohol-free. This is a restaurant struggling for an identity. Casual or formal? Gourmet or traditional? Kelly's (the actress) shrine or a Pan Am museum? I advise to keep walking. Incidentally, our waitress Jan Z., was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFamilyofFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    334
    197
    110
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Killer Margaritas!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you're ever in Key West, be sure to visit Kelly's at the corner of Whitehead and Caroline Streets (one block off Duval St.). Between 4 and 7 in the afternoon, they have - without a doubt - the BEST happy hour EVER. They sell these killer Margaritas - NOT frozen, each one made from scratch - at the bar. But, be careful! These luscious drinks can turn you into a puddle of melted butter on the floor if you're not careful.

Kelly's also has a micro-brewery on site. The beers are Happy Hour priced and are quite good. There are a half-dozen or so varieties from which to choose.

Also during Happy Hour, they have munchies (at the bar only) that are heavenly. The chicken wings can be ordered with several different sauces ranging from mild to hot. The Havana shrimp are amazing. The Golden Ale Cheese Dip is quite yummy - if you can afford the calories.

A word of warning: If you want to partake of the Margaritas and munchies during Happy Hour, get there 10 minutes or so before 4:00. The place fills up fast. If the bar seats are all taken, there are some tables next to the bar (NOT the "eating" area) where you can get Happy Hour prices if you order the drinks and munchies at the bar.

The "regular" food at Kelly's is quite good. And, it's reasonably priced for Key West. The atmosphere is very nice. Outside seating for meals. Amazingly quiet given how close it is to Duval St. Definitely a place we eat at at least once every time we're in Key West.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhyllisAndTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Happy hour? Anything but...”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Wings bad. Service terrible. Bartender sweating through her shirt. Went back n recommendation. Poor choice.

Helpful?
Thank TeacherTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just around the corner from The Banyan Resort”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

What I love about Key West is everything is a short stroll away. We had a large party of 12 so I did not mind the extra wait. I had a delicious Mango gazpacho. My husband had a whole fried yellow tailed snapper. The food was lovely and fresh. Too bad we weren't in Key West long enough to go back for a second meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWald28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden gem off of duval street”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice venue with open air seating in a garden type atmosphere. Food was excellent. I had the scallops (recommend) and the wife had shrimp with pasta. We topped off with an ice cream sandwich. I would suggest sharing it.

Helpful?
Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing