We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's with all the flies?”

Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill
Ranked #146 of 446 Restaurants in Key West
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located at 301 Whitehead St., on the corner of Whitehead and Caroline, stands one of Key West's most impressive and historic buildings - Kelly's Caribbean. Well known for being the birthplace of Pan American World Airways, Pan-Am's first tickets were sold out of this very building in 1927. Pan Am was the principal and largest international air carriers in the United States from 1927 until its collapse on December 4, 1991. Founded in 1927 as a scheduled air mail and passenger service operating between Key West, Florida and Havana, Cuba, the airline became a major company credited with many innovations that shaped the international airline industry, including the widespread use of jet aircraft, jumbo jets and computerized reservation systems. Our Namesake - Kelly McGillis Kelly's was opened in 1992 by Fred Tillman and Actress, Kelly McGillis. We are proud to carry Kelly McGillis' name! Noted for her various movie roles - Top Gun, Witness, The Accused - Kelly now resides in North Carolina but she does keep a watchful eye on the Kelly's Caribbean. Should you stop on by Kelly's Caribbean...we do have her Top Gun Jacket in the "Crash Bar" area.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's with all the flies?”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I recently went with a group of friends to Kelly's for dinner. The outdoor patio area has always been one of my favorites in Key West. This time however, we were bombarded with flies! They were everywhere! The waiter explained that this was "fly season" in Key West...whatever that means...but we have dined in multiple outdoor restaurants in Key West and never had this problem. The food was pretty good, and the service was fine, but we couldn't enjoy ourselves for all of the flies. Kelly's used to be one of our "must sees" on our annual Key West trip, but haven't been there in several years until recently. But now, not sure I'll be back anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    334
    197
    110
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place for decent meal”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

First trip to Key West and some of the restaurants we passed were a little off-putting. Stopped in before going to the "southernmost" point in the US and got some good advice from the waiter at the front desk. Wish I could remember his name because he was wonderfully funny. Came back later and he gave us a great table outside. His recommendations for the four of us were excellent. The home-made bread was excellent and we wolfed it down. He brought us another loaf for free. Mahi Mahi was cooked to perfection. We thought the prices were very reasonable for the area and the ambience was excellent, outdoor lighting coming on as dusk came in. Definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limey0098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Kelly's”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently took a family trip (2 adults, 2 teenagers) to Key west. We had passed Kelly's a couple of times and decided to try it for lunch on a very rainy day. It is located in the building that originally housed Pan American Airlines. The atmosphere was lovely with covered areas and some outdoor areas. The waiter was personable, friendly and offered excellent service. The food was very good. We had a variety of lunch items: chicken salad on a croissant, mahi mahi fish sandwich and ceasar salad with jerk chicken. It was all delicious! We would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Service was outstanding and we had about 20 people in our group. The food was very good and fresh, I had the blackened Mahi Mahi and Veggies it tasted great and the Vegetables were not over cooked, they were nice and crisp. I am sure we will return again when we come back to Key West.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UATravelerHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanamassa, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Named after Kelly Mcgillis the actress”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice place. Menu was filled with things I wanted to try. Like most places in Key West, you were in someone's back yard. Our waitress was excellent and made great suggestions on what to order. It was quieter then some of our other stops but I would go back there to eat again. One of the better places we ate!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing