We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had good memories of the place...”

Sunset Pier at Zero Duval Street
Ranked #75 of 444 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Central America
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We had good memories of the place...”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had come before and enjoyed the margaritas and conch fritters. The place is a pier so we were in the sea, the nachos and crab cakes were good, the conch fritters were not, the drinks were good, having rock life music was so-so, the climate was great, the prices above average, the service was ok until we left only to have the waitress following us and screaming in front of everyone for us to stop because we haven't left any gratuity for her. Unfortunatelly for her, we DID left her tip IN CASH, because we beleive in covering gratuity inmediatly and not force the waitress to wait until the restaurant cashes the credit card voucher, somehow she lost it. Don't think we'll be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEDTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    340
    102
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing but a View!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Four of us stopped by Sunset Pier on a weekday afternoon to enjoy the sunset, have an appetizer, and a couple of drinks. The place is very busy at this time of day but this should be no excuse for the very slow service. We had the conch fritters, nachos, and crab claws. The conch fritters were mediocre at best as were the nachos--chips, weird cheese, and some salsa. But the crab claws are the deal breaker here--we ordered a pound and were given four claws. After questioning the waitress once she remarked that the order was accurate. We asked the second time and a "manager" delivered the dish again this time with eight crab claws. As we shared this appetizer, I noticed the poor quality of the crab itself--mushy, cold, nothing to dip then in. The last two became the deal breaker--they were obviously rotten. The smell after cracking them open caused all of us to have to move them to another table. Our hands had a horrible smell. The establishment did take the $48 for the pound of crab claws off of our bill. The poor quality of all the food would be a major detriment in ever visiting this place again which is unfortunate due to the great location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanKeyResort, Manager at Sunset Pier at Zero Duval Street, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Annette B,

I am so sorry about your experience at Sunset Pier. There is no excuse for the poor service and food quality. All of our staff has reviewed your comments and understands the importance of paying attention to details. I also apologize that we did not immediately recognize the problem and compensate you appropriately. Please reach out to me directly and I will offer you a full refund of your bill. I do appreciate that you took the time to post your comments. Your feedback is our most important tool in recognizing where we need to improve.

Thank you so much,
Rodger Levering
Food & Beverage Director

rlevering@oceankey.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax and have a bite”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stopped at Sunset Pier for a drink and a snack. We sat at the bar, but there was ample seating available on the dock as well.

The drinks were decent and conch fritters were tasty. It was cold the day we were there but the bar was comfortable with heaters running.

Service was excellent, Al and Libby took great care of us and the other people at the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location for watching the sunset”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were down in KW on a boat so we can compare this to watching the sunset from the ocean, which we did. While the ocean was a better experience, if I didn't have the private boat I would choose here for a sunset. Drinks are ok, prices high do to the view. Staff is decent and responsive. Food is bar food. If you are in town when a cruise ship is docked, get there early and watch the ship leave. Once the sun goes down you are right at the top point of Duval so you can get your night started.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aquafria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view only”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We decided to eat here and while the location and the view was pretty cool, the food was overpriced and subpar at best.

I wouldn't eat here again, but it was an experience that I felt needed to be done but had I known I would have chosen elsewhere

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krisiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Pier at Zero Duval Street also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sunset Pier at Zero Duval Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing