We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the view. Stay for dinner.”
Review of Louie's Backyard

Louie's Backyard
Ranked #61 of 447 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
CHARLESTON
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Come for the view. Stay for dinner.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Probably the best view on the island for a restaurant. Absolutely pristine. You can enjoy drinks at the bar and then grab a table or head to your reservation. On a Saturday night, wasn't overly busy and the food was very good. Service was very good and everyone in our party of 6 enjoyed their meals. Would certainly go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,978
    621
    243
    149
    156
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upper deck has great food”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We chose to go to the upper deck because the views were great and we like to try a few things on menu. The upper deck is small plates with so much flavor. We had cheese plate, zucchini fritters with curry, ahi tuna and had to try their popcorn of the day. They were all Great. Highly recommend this place. We will be back next time we visit Key West

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otto717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food and service was excellent after being seated. Had a glitch with the reservation and was not impressed with the attitude - like it was my fault they screwed up. Once got over that hurdle - all was very good as usual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Louie's, though flawed, is a must stop for every KW trip. The view is fabulous, and the food delicious, thus the 4 stars instead of 5. I've been coming for many years, and will return, although I do need to point out some issues that arose this go-round.

We came twice this trip. Once for Sunday brunch for 9 people. The service was top notch, but the kitchen couldn't stop making mistakes. Our waitress totally made up for it with extra dishes and free food (to the point where we were all overly full), and when the right dishes arrived, they were delicious, but friends were eating different courses at different times. Also, we were seated within 1/2 an hour of opening, and they were out of a featured fish and one other item - this shouldn't happen. Appetizers and entrees are really good, and although pricey, reward the purchase.

A few nights later we came for "sunset" (you only see the edge of sunset, of course, because you're by the southern most point. The view was great, but service was slow because the deck was packed.

This is a great location a good way to start or end your visit on the southern end of Duval (it's not on Duval, but close).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food + Atmosphere = perfect!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fabulous fresh seafood, interesting menu, relaxed yet upscale vibe. The place was packed but we felt no pressure from waiter to rush. Loved the views from the deck. Our favorite dinner in Key West!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mapsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Backyard also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Louie's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing