We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of heaven in Key West”
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
Ranked #23 of 444 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in Key West”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Must get the lobster benedict! Ambience is so shabby, it's chic. Had a hard time getting used to the roosters running around, but they simply add to the charm. Get there early for breakfast, as there might be a long wait - it's worth it though. Full bar, too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,198
    2,426
    730
    225
    151
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Rude Waiter!!! - Claude D”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My family and I have been going to Blue Heaven for over 10 years. We have considered it a restaurant for special occasions. We have noted the service has been getting worse for the last year or more. Tonight we had a special Christmas dinner with our family and had the absolutely worst service from a waiter we have ever had. The waiter "Claude D" refused to have any attention to the table. He failed to listen to the orders and to wait long enough to take all of the orders at the table. He failed to ask if we wanted coffee or other items with desert. He also failed to describe the dinner specials. After the dinner service he failed to see that the dinner table was cleaned prior to dessert service - food remnants were left all over the table. With the poorest service we had ever experienced at Blue Heaven, we still tipped 10% instead of the normal 20% tip for top notch service. Claude D actually had the gall and audacity to follow us to the parking lot to challenge us on the tip amount!!!!! This restaurant is typically a $200 to $300 tab for a family of four for dinner. With tips it runs another 20% - and in prior occasions the service warranted a 20% tip. We have never been more poorly treated or more insulted by terrible wait service than this experience at Blue Heaven. 10 plus years of patronage has come to an immediate end tonight !!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Lobster Eggs Benedict!!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Amazing Lobster Eggs Benedict!! Live Acoustic Music, which is nice and not too loud!! Also Interesting to note is that all of the chickens, cats and dogs cohabitate together in the courtyard peacefully.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food! Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

As a local we make sure all our guests experience Blue Heaven! The atmosphere is very eclectic; sitting outdoors among the roosters, chickens, baby chicks and cats and dogs. Breakfast is our favorite meal at Blue Heaven. Be prepared for a wait for seating but there is usually live entertainment, ping pong and local artists there to pass the time. Add to all that the great food and you have an absolute don't miss!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BkyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely and unusual place. The wait on a Sunday brunch was for an hour so expectations build up but the food was just ok granted there is only so much you can do with eggs - after all eggs are eggs but seriously food was very bland. Star was the banana bread and drinks were nice.
I would not come here again for food but would go on a blink for drinks and that banana bread.

Helpful?
Thank Lyah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing