We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 405 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Croydon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went here right after we got married the staff was great we waited a good hour for breakfast but well worth the wait. Oh and thanks for the Complementary Key Lime Pie Yummy. Cant wait to go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikek686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambience, Ambience, Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for several years. We love the outdoor funky ambience. You are truly eating with the chickens, which is quite the experience. Our favorite has always been one of the benedicts for breakfast and that is what we ordered today. My husband had the lobster benedict and I had the BLT lobster Benedict. The flavor was great as usual but this time we felt that the lobster was overcooked, making it tough. The service was good as usual and we will return. Hopefully the owner will read this and do a better job when preparing the lobster.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mainemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had Easter breakfast March 31. The atmosphere is an unusual Island feel. Food was delicious and atmosphere, a true Key West experience. Staff, unbelievably friendly and helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food and atmosphere great but long waits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second vacation in Key West and we had enjoyed two dinners at the Blue Heaven three years ago so we decided to go for dinner our first night this time. The food and atmosphere were still fantastic but the wait time was so much longer than what was predicted that we were a bit disappointed. This is a very popular restaurant and therefore understand all the juggling needed to keep diners close to schedule, but it would be better to just state a more realistic waiting time so people can plan accordingly. Definitely would go back next time we are in the area since it is a great location with fantastic food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What fun, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This restaurant typifies Key West,. Unique property off the main congested areas. Large outdoor dining area and bar as well as a waiting area with ping pong table and assorted playthings for kids. A smaller indoor area is available, as well, but the outdoor experience is lovely. No reservations, but you can call 1/2 hour before and put your name on a list. The wait, however is usually 1 hour on a busy night. There is a band and a fun place to wait. Watch out you don't drink too many Margaritas while waiting, you will be famished by the time you eat. The food is excellent and varied. We were seated inside as we asked for "first available" table, We were glad we did; a rainstorm came through and many diners were huddled ourtside under umbrellas until it passed. Always chancy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing