We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capt Rick and Cindy and the BEST!”

Tortuga Sailing Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our small group, customized all private charters focuses on your interests. Common excursions are day sails, reef snorkel trips, dolphin and turtle watching, sunset sails, island hopping, amazing overnight adventures and even longer trips to the Dry Tortugas National Park. We’ll provide your drinks, fine foods, snorkeling equipment, kayaks, paddle boards, fishing poles and lobster catching gear - all while you are on a luxury 42’ sailing catamaran. The yacht, S/V Tortuga has all the bells and whistles: 3 staterooms, 2 private heads (bathrooms), fully powered, A/C, fresh hot water showers, water maker and a full galley. Designed for those who enjoy a totally carefree trip. Our crew ensures you’ll get the relaxation you deserve and all action you can want on your customized charter. S/V Tortuga is eco-friendly, promotes sailing, marine life protection, turtle and dolphin awareness and provides educational opportunities.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had an amazing time with Capt. Rick and Cindy! The weather was great and the water was perfect! We went sailing, paddle boarding, snorkeling, and kayaking. We went through the mangroves and reefs, seeing lots of aquatic life. The boat was beautiful, with plenty of room to spread out and relax (and a bathroom). Their hospitality was second to none, plenty of drinks and snacks. they were so fun, accommodating and down to earth. I totally recommend going on the Tortuga!!!!!!!!!

1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Tortuga Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Glad you got your snorkeling on. Next time we'll try to put the speargun in your hand :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

After much searching for the perfect vessel for a day on the aqua blue waters of the Keys, I choose Tortuga Sailing. I couldn't have made a better choice!! Capt. Rick and his First Mate Cindy Lou were simply amazing. The most down to earth friendly people you could have to spend a day with. The trip was a wedding present for my brother John and his new wife Christina, although I must admit, it was also for myself and my girlfriend Jen as we would benefit from this amazing catamaran! The Tortuga was immaculate, comfortable and sleek. Once we cast off, Cindy Lou put out a plate of fruit, breads and jams. She then made us all the best lattes we've ever had! After getting to know one another Capt. Rick pointed out things of interest on our way out to see and asked what we would like to do. We defered to his knowledge as we just wanted a fun relaxing day with no set agenda, which was perfect for Rick as it let him set the tone. First stop, one of the reefs off the keys. After we moored the Cat, Cindy Lou broke out the snorkleing gear and explained the kind of sea life we would be encountering. We saw exactly what Cindy said we would, Barracuda, Green Moray eel, Parrot fish. Cindy Lou and Capt. Rick joined us in the water and took lots of pictures and videos, which was really cool! After a few hours of playing in the warm clear water it was back on board and off to our next destination. Capt. Rick set sail for one of the harbors to show us the various yachts, fishing vessels, sail boats and they were all beautiful, just as ours was!! Heading back out to sea, Cindy Lou set out a nice lunch of various meats, cheeses, crackers and bread. Perfect size and hit the spot! After enjoying our lunch it was time to just lay out on the trampoline on the front of the Cat, enjoy a few cold beverages, soak up the sun and just relax! Capt. Rick picked another spot, and it was back in the water, fun followed by more fun!! All the while Cindy Lou made sure we had everything we needed. On the sail back in Cindy Lou put out a nice spread of fresh mozzarella and fresh tomatoes on some baguettes, delicious!!
The whole trip was just what we wanted. Fun, adventurous but relaxing as well. We made some new friends in Capt. Rick & Cindy Lou and we hope to see them again soon. In fact, we talked about an overnight to the Marquesas with them on the Tortuga next year and will stay in contact with them to make it happen!! I know this review is a litle long but they deserve it! Spend an afternoon on this beautiful Catamaran with Capt. Rick & Cindy Lou, you wil NOT be disappointed!! Thanks for everything! George & Jen--

3  Thank GeorgeB188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Manager at Tortuga Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

So glad to know your entire party had a wonderful time. Keep us in mind whenever a wedding at sea is in need.
We'll make sure the dolphins won't snag the wedding bouquet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is our second year boating with Capt Rick and Cindy. This year we opted for the 1/2 day excursion and we were not disappointed. No matter what you want to do, they have it covered. Rick knows the good fishing spots so we were able to bring home dinner for the evening. The Captain took us to some beautiful spots so we could jump in crystal clear water and relax. He and Cindy are a great team and always make sure whatever you need or want, they have it onboard. We will be back again next year to spend time on the Tortuga!

2  Thank FL-traveler32931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Tortuga Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Awesome! and your always a pleasure to have on board. Let us make you raise the sails next visit and we'll send you home with an official Tortuga "crew" shirt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spend your day on the Tortuga in the beautiful Florida Keys with Captain Rick and Cindy. My wife and I go down south every chance we get for a memorable, safe, day journey on the Tortuga, leave it up to your hosts and just enjoy yourself. Catch some fish, go for a swim, sit back, relax and enjoy what becomes of the day. A great day excursion to bring your Family and check out the sea life with experienced ocean lovers who know how to live.

1  Thank Robstercraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Tortuga Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

And such fun gathering all those lobsters on opening season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Capt Rick and First Mate Cindy operate an 5 star catamaran with impeccable service. We found Tortuga Sailing on TripAdvisor and booked it from the perfect reviews online. We have never made a better choice in experiences! Rick customized an entire 8 hour day for our family of five. Absolutely everything you could think of was prepared. We simply stepped on the boat and had the time of our lives.

The Trip: Rick sailed us out of the marina and directly out to a pristine reef system in protected waters several miles off coast. There we got right into the water and explored the reef system for about 2 hours. The water was crystal clear and the fish were abundant. We saw every variety of tropical fish you could imagine as well a bonus of 2 nurse sharks and some barracuda. The snorkeling was in no more than 12 feet of water which made it easy for all ages in our family an allowed for easy dives to the bottom to film lobster and such with our GoPro camera.. We had a blast jumping from the boat into the ocean and taking lots of fun pictures. We also fed the fish around our boat and gathered hundreds of gorgeous yellow fin tuna to play with. After our first stop, we rinsed of with a fresh water shower ( A BIG PLUS!) right on the back of the boat where you easily climbed out of the water on a user friendly ladder. Entrance and exit from the boat to the water is as easy as it gets. We had an amazing lunch and visited in the ample shaded outdoor seating area and slowly made our way back to Key West where we were given a personal tour of the entire island from the water. This part of the trip was super relaxing and the kids enjoyed sitting on the catamaran nets on the front of the boat and waving at everyone on the shoreline and passing yachts. After the island tour, Rick located another area of coral in which we spent another couple of hours, swimming, relaxing and getting to know the crew better. We returned to the dock in late afternoon where Rick let my kids Paddle Board and Kayak in the secluded marina. Giant Tarpon swam up next to the kids as they played and the pictures were priceless.

The Food: we were served two meals on the boat that were more than expected. Fresh local fruit, juices, breads and handmade coffee for breakfast. For lunch he offered a wide variety of sandwich fixings, dips and some amazing homemade coleslaw. There was a cooler full of water, sodas and other drinks available for us to drink throughout the day.

The Experience: You will not find a better Captain and First Mate in Key West. Both have been on and around the water their entire lives and the stories will amaze you. They made my entire family feel at ease and never hesitated to offer their local knowledge of the islands. They even sent us to the BEST local restaurant in town The Hogfish Bar and Grill. Awesome all around and words cannot describe the wonderful memories we made that day.

The boat is set up for all ages. From 8 years on up to the parents, we all had our individual fun times!

3  Thank frank n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick S, Owner at Tortuga Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Great family to have on board for the day and we REALLY enjoyed all your amazing underwater go-pro footage. Thanks for sharing it globally on the internet! We can still bring up the video when we google Tortuga Sailing Adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Sailing Adventures also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tortuga Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing