We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The local experience!”

Fun In The Sun Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Boat rentals and street legal golf cart rentals. Boats are available with or without a captain. Golf carts are allowed anywhere on the island of Key West and most of Stock Island. On captained boat trips choose to snorkel, fish, lobster, spearfish, relax at a sandbar, or anything else you can think of, with all gear included. For rentals choose from a fleet of different styled boats and any of the additional gear is available for rent. All of our customers gain access to both of our luxurious marina locations. Key West Harbour Marina has a private beach, pool, restaurant, and showers. Oceans Edge Hotel has 6 pools and a restaurant.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fun in the sun charters was an awesome experience. Capt Shon Williams took us to all of his personal honey holes for spearfishing and snorkeling. The girls had a fabulous time on the boat. We shot some of the biggest hog snapper we've ever seen! Best charter I've been on in the keys!!

Thank kylemills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shon-Williams, Owner at Fun In The Sun Key West, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to spend the day with you and can't wait to do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain shon"
in 38 reviews
"sun charters"
in 25 reviews
"sand bar"
in 29 reviews
"lobster"
in 33 reviews
"hogfish"
in 12 reviews
"private charter"
in 14 reviews
"pontoon boat"
in 4 reviews
"boating experience"
in 5 reviews
"hour charter"
in 7 reviews
"foot lemon shark"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 12 reviews
"great captain"
in 6 reviews
"four hours"
in 4 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 5 reviews
"caught fish"
in 3 reviews
"sandbar"
in 48 reviews
"fishing"
in 71 reviews
Filter

224 - 228 of 230 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are so happy that we found Fun In The Sun Charters. We had such a great time in Key West, all because of Capt Shon and his charter. The experience is like no other because he takes you where the locals go and you do what the locals do. Yo get to be a "conch" for the day. This was my 3rd trip to Key West this year, and I have hired quite a few charters. This is by far the best.
Capt Shon took us out to snorkel, spearfish and island hop on 3 separate occassions. On the way out one day was a short stop at a local spot with a rope swing which was a great way to start the day. We then went to a spot that was so peaceful and quiet, there wasn't a boat for miles around! While snorkeling, I saw more beautiful fish and activity than I had on my previous charters. He taught how to spearfish, and I have to say, every time we went in the water, someone came out with a fish. My son became "hooked" on this activity! At the end of the day, we relaxed at a sandbar while Capt Shon grilled some of our catch from the day and also made some incredible Ceviche to munch on. The food was delicious. The days on the boat were spectacular! His boat is immaculate and very comfortable, he has everything you need. He has such a knowlrdge and appreciation of the water and nature that simply transfers into a good time for those on his boat. He's a great guy that just wants to show his passengers all that Key West truly has to offer!

Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shon-Williams, Owner at Fun In The Sun Key West, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to spend the day and can't wait to do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a week in lovely key west with my wife and two teenage kids (18 and 19 years old).
We hired Fun in the Sun charters on 3 separate days and had the time of our lives with Capt Shawn as our guide.
Each day on the boat was a different and amazing experience. From Spearfishing and Snorkeling one day,
To hanging out a the sand bar another day, to visiting the Boca Grande key on the final day to top off a
Great experience that we will never forget. Thanks Capt Shawn! WE WILL BE BACK!

Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shon-Williams, Owner at Fun In The Sun Key West, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to spend the day and can't wait to do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the minute we met Capt Shon at the boat we were confident that we were in good hands and were destined for an excellent day on the water.... we were correct.

Shon was very knowledgeable of all of the waters and sea life / wild life around us and was tentative to our needs. We all felt safe and secure. The boat was outfitted with everything that we would need for our day on the water... the coolers were stocked up and iced down. While spending an afternoon at the sandbar he made sure that we always had a fresh beverage and arranged the bimini top for ideal shade and adjusted our location as the tide changed. The boat was well equipped with floats, life jackets, snorkels and mask etc... we had the day of a lifetime with Fun in the Sun charters.

the boat was very well maintained, clean and in tip top shape. it felt good to know that we were aboard a quality charter boat with a knowledgeable and confident captain.

All things considered being a veteran customer of several other Key West charter boat services... (all of which were less than acceptable experiences.... which seems to be commonplace in Key West).... I can honestly say... we will be back as customers with Fun in the Sun charters next year when we return....

You owe it to yourself to book a charter with these guys if you want to get it right the first time... because these guys obviously care about their customers and put forth the effort to ensure you are enjoying your time with them.

Thank BradfordM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shon-Williams, Owner at Fun In The Sun Key West, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to spend the day and can't wait to do it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fun In The Sun Key West also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fun In The Sun Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing