We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place, better than the rest!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Red

The Little Red
Ranked #35 of 111 Shopping in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For most of anyone’s memory, this little store has been around forever as the place to get all the useful items one could want and always the place to pose for your New England quaint photo.Behind a firehouse-red attractive façade is part convenience store and part way station. And there are two now with the opening in 2012 of The Little Red at Flagler Station in the historic seaport in Key West, FL. Like its historic Ptown sister, this is an iconic landmark that draws the attention of all for its quality novelties. In both locations you find sunblock, band-aids, notebooks, magazines, newspapers (New York Times, of course), little snacks and drinks, pens, maps, post cards and greeting cards, thingamajigs, knicks and knacks. A selection of unique items paying homage to the Dragonfly – a prehistoric little symbol of freedom and rebirth celebrated daily. You can crack up laughing at the gag gifts and hard to find humorous and naughty greeting cards or express “PEACE” with stickers, buttons and decals that are only rivaled by a huge selection of funky hats, animal heads and cold gear. And this place will remind you of that. It’s like stepping back in time but not missing out on the latest and greatest stuff.You can always count on this place having what you need and being true to their motto – “Fair Prices, Nice People” – the staff is really nice and friendly, it’s well laid out, and the name is cute. In fact, the entire store is cute and that bright red storefront just adds to the charm, helping to make it just a little oomph more than a typical Newspaper/Magazine/Etc. type of store.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Such a nice place, better than the rest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This place had such a nice selection of Key West things, everyday things, and specialty things, and everything was a great value (not overpriced!) The location is perfect right next to the parking lot where you get on the Yankee Freedom to Dry Tortugas. We stopped in here in a last minute bid to find some souvenirs for some friends (and we are picky!). The guy patiently walked us all around the store and we all found exactly what we were looking for, and then bought more (it's that good!). Then we had no idea how to get home because it had been a looong day and he was more than happy to tell us directions and even point us to the nearest Key Lime Pie because we wanted to do that next. Wish I'd gone in this shop first, I would have saved a lot of time looking for meaningful, nice gifts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank purrlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTLR, Owner at The Little Red, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We hope to see you soon and safe travels back home.
Your friends at The Little Red.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Locally owned store with items worth buying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I absolutely love The Little Red. Val and Juan own this great location and one in Provincetown. They manage to find everything I want for myself and for gift for my friends and family. They seem to find great things that match the feel of laid back Key West, but also items that my chi-shi friends in Los Angeles and New York would put in their homes and lofts. They also have a great range of items; from home goods to pet items, wine, books, really just everything. Thanks guys for opening a non-t-shirt shop and filling it with everything I ever wanted!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTLR, Owner at The Little Red, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your sweet review. Hope to see you soon!
Your friends at The Little Red
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOve this little store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

great little shop! it has everything! so many fun gifts...very unique! don't miss it if you are visiting and if you live here like me...get down there!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieW224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTLR, Owner at The Little Red, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate your honesty. Come back to visit us and we will have a special gift waiting for you. Make sure you mentioned this review.
Have a nice day.
Best,
Your friends at The Little Red
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come by Sea or Land to The Little Red!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Don't miss The Little Red when you visit or live in Key West! There are gifts for everyone on your list (plus many things for yourself). Tasty treats, wine, fun cards, jewelry, clothes and all in a great shop near the beautiful water of the Gulf. It's a fun and friendly place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMiddleton_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTLR, Owner at The Little Red, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate your honesty. Come back to visit us and we will have a special gift waiting for you. Make sure you mentioned this review.
Have a nice day.
Best,
Your friends at The Little Red
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for Gifts, Cards, wines, speads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Little Red has an amazing variety of items. Gifts, T Shirts, Cards, wines, spreads. To many items. Take your time and see it all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank keyswcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTLR, Owner at The Little Red, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate your honesty. Come back to visit us and we will have a special gift waiting for you. Make sure you mentioned this review.
Have a nice day.
Best,
Your friends at The Little Red
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Red also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Little Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing