We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wait is over.”

Key West Firehouse Museum
Ranked #31 of 180 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the history of fire fighting in the Florida Keys
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been waiting for the museum to open for the past few years we have been coming down for vacation. Today was finally our day to visit. From the time we entered until the time we left the staff of Jerry and Rich were very cordual. They answered any and all questions we had. I would recommend the museum to all. Firefighter or not it was every interesting and worth the money. Thanks again to the staff for all the souvenirs.

1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thanks David,
We were very happy to show you around and we appreciate your kind words. We also want to thank you for buying all those souviniers. You made our week. Hope to see you again and if I get up that way to visit my friends I would love to check out your department.
Rich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 185 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

To start off, the staff was very professional and courteous. The place was well put together and the pieces of history that were inside the museum were amazing. As a firefighter myself, I found many interesting things that relate not only to the Key West fire department, but also the overall history of the American fire service. Truly a great place to visit. A+

2  Thank JR121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We would like to thank you for visiting our museum and taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very friendly staff. Meet us there and showed my family around and interacted with the kids. A lot of history and very knowledgable staff with the history. Great t-shirts on had to purchase to support museum.

3  Thank Nbbcfd791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is an 1800s Key West firehouse. They have a 1920s American LaFrance pumper, and lots of memorabilia. There are lots of great pictures. They also have the original fire pit for the fires to operate the pumps of the horse-drawn steamers. Don't try sliding down the pole though - real fire poles are brass and must be polished daily to be smooth enough.

3  Thank John117592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, General Manager at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for visiting our Museum. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Just a little info for you. The galvanized fire pole is the original pole which we confirmed when we checked the original building plans. We thought we were unique but quickly learned from our vistors (including some Boston firefighters) and by visiting other museums that it was quite common. We also learned that the oldest poles were actually made of wood, sanded smooth, varnished and then coated with parafin.

Thanks again and we hope you'll visit us again in the future. We will continue to update and add to our displays as we uncover more treasures from our past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Heart and soul went into the making of this museum. One of the best firehouse museums I have visited. Created by a retired Key west fireman, the museum has artifacts from their department, as well as almost every Chief's picture and uniform, or hat, since their inception. They have an old La france pumper on display, the old coal pit used for the horse drawn steamer, and even recreation of the firehouse sleeping quarters, which some musuems do not have. The station itself has had history, including enduring many hurricanes on the island. It is a good stop, for at least an hour or so. They have a store for t-shirts, steins, mugs, or other souveneirs. If you work for a fire department, bring your patch, they will proudly display it.

3  Thank Jamonit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

We would like to thank you for visiting and taking the time to write a review of our musem.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Firehouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Key West Firehouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing