We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Diving”

Adventure Watersport Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Watersport Charters, specializes in daily and overnight liveaboard scuba diving, spear fishing and deep sea fishing charters from Key West to the Marquesas Keys, Dry Tortugas National Park and all points in between at land or sea. So whether you're an avid fisherman looking for the ultimate overnight fishing trip adventure, a SCUBA diver wanting to exploring the exotic underwater world of the Keys reefs & wrecks, or a family looking for a serene peaceful & leisurely way of reuniting your family from the hectic fast track of life, Adventure Watersport Charters is your ultimate destination where adventure exceeds imagination.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Always a great time diving with Capt. Jack on the Emily Anne. They definitely know how to put you on the lobster in style!

Date of experience: July 2017
5  Thank bhreyemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Water... C, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Lobster season is definitely here, and glad to know that you not only enjoy your dive time with our crew, but you're successful in your hunt of those tasty little bugs as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain jack"
in 25 reviews
"lobster"
in 20 reviews
"dive sites"
in 6 reviews
"great diving"
in 5 reviews
"dry tortugas"
in 13 reviews
"vandenberg wreck"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"dive shop"
in 5 reviews
"day trip"
in 7 reviews
"kingfish"
in 2 reviews
"mutton"
in 2 reviews
"open water"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 5 reviews
"catch fish"
in 3 reviews
"deep sea fishing"
in 2 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

This was an amazing experience in Tortugas and Marquesas. We had outstanding conditions and fantastic dives. The Captains' Jack and Dan took very good care of us. Our tanks were always filled, and they always made sure we had everything we needed. The food and drink was over the top. Thanks Kelly Jordaan.
Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this 6 pack to anyone

Date of experience: August 2017
5  Thank artsytoocreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Water... C, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thanks Heather for the kind words, as we sincerely enjoyed having you all as everyone was fantastic fun and really good divers & hunters...what a bounty! Our Captains do go the extra mile in making sure everyone is well taken care of and happy, as they enjoy these trips and diving as much as you all do; excellence in customer service has always been our motto. Glad to see that you all have already scheduled your 3 day liveaboard Dry Tortugas spearfishing trip with us next year again same time, and looking to also come down for some Marquesas Keys day diving next month!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

From the start dealing with KELLY was great. We changed our line up about 40times seemed like and she made it work. Capt Jack and crew where very helpful. My daughter age 10 did the "resort course"
He was very patient with her and very helpful in the water. Even had some newly certified ladies with us and was very good with them also. Vandenberg wreck is a must !!!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Cdh1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Water... C, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Congrats Cason on your advanced open water certification and thanks for sharing your family & friends with us on your Marquesas Keys dive days and for the great review! Although we did have to do multiple adjustments to accommodate everyone's skill levels and desires, we all pulled together from both sides to make this happen and give everyone a fun filled and most memorable day! Glad to know you enjoyed the crew, as they always go above & beyond to be helpful in making everyone safe & successful in the water, and yes you are correct; the Vandy is a great culmination to end your Key West dives with, along with your advanced open water certification for you & for the girls as well. Look forward to having you back with us again sometime soon for yet another diving adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

We booked a 3 day trip with Kelly at Adventure Watersports Charters for beginning of June 2017 for 5 guys freediving, spearfishing and we added the fishing package. My buddy Eric had been out on fishing only trips with them many times but Drew, Ben, Josh and I had never chartered with them. And having a group of strictly freedivers was new for the charter as well. They hit it out of the park. We had an amazing experience with these guys and they put us on the fish consistently!

The owners Kelly and Jack met us at the marina and made the check in process easy and friendly. Captain Dan was great and once he walked us through the safety meeting we were on our way with Jack also aboard as his deck hand. 7 of us total aboard the Emily Anne and we were all comfortable with enough room for our gear, food and all the tackle, chum and ice you need for a 3 day trip along with sleeping accommodations and a full galley.

The group landed Grouper, Mutton, Hogfish, Cubera and more at almost every single spot Captain Dan anchored up on. Josh was an absolute sniper killing some really nice fish consistently from the moment we got in the water. And while underway from one spot to the next we trolled and caught nice Mackerel and Kingfish pretty consistently as well. Adding the fishing package to the trip is a no brainer. Definitely worth the extra money and yielded great results for us. It also gives you something to do in the early morning and evening when you have some downtime to hang out and just have fun with the group and get to know the crew. When we got back to port we were all surprised at how the fish added up to a big pile after a day and a half trip.

Captain Dan and Jack kept in communication with Kelly back at the marina keeping constant track of the weather. We decided to end the trip a day short and head back due to heavy weather moving in on us. It was the right call and as soon as we got back in it got downright nasty.

Even with the trip being cut short we had a great experience. Jack and Captain Dan were awesome to charter with and great help on the boat. They had sound advise and put us on a mess of fish. Kelly was super nice and accommodating through the entire process to make our trip easy to set up. Everything was professional and went smoothly for us.

The Emily Anne is slow and steady and has lots of room. It's not a high speed boat with granite countertops and luxurious amenities. It's a fishing boat ready to catch fish. That being said, she's comfortable, stable and has everything you need to have a great trip with a great crew. 6 bunks down below to sleep in, a full galley and cooking utensils. A toilet and shower, large cabin with sitting area, table and tv with DVD player and cold air conditioning throughout. Rear deck has plenty of room for gear, fishing, prepping food, enough ice boxes for all your food and fish. Waking up on the water each morning and being anchored up on our spot ready to jump right in and shoot fish was the best. Being able to sail from one location to another, have lunch and dinner, sleep and fish without ever leaving the water was a huge advantage. You spend so much more time in the water diving not having to go back to shore for anything.

These guys get 5 stars from me. And I think I can speak for the rest of our party in saying that we will definitely charter with them again. Highly recommended and we were all very satisfied with every part of our trip.

Please keep in mind this is a fishing/diving operation. I see a lot of complaints on reviews about it being rough out. It was rough sometimes when we were out too. That's fishing! If you're looking for a guaranteed calm water experience and luxurious accommodations, you may want to consider a cruise ship or a hotel with a pool. Lol! This vessel goes out into open water to kill fish and have fun. Rough seas just happen sometimes. Take your seasickness pills or put on your patch or whatever you need to do to prepare in advance. No one can positively predict the weather or the ocean.

Thank you for a great trip Kelly, Jack and Captain Dan.

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank orivera2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Water... C, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Thanks Ozem for the fantastic review! Captain Jack and Dan ALWAYS go the extra mile to make sure everyone is safe, first and foremost, and having a ton of fun! Putting you guys on the fish is the easy part, but you have to have the skills to spear the fish; and man did you guys ever perform! Though we've taken out several free diving trips previously, for the time you guys were out there (weather permitting), you definitely had the best bounty, and from all accounts from the Captains report, had the most fun too! With your trip being cut short due to weather, we were happy to offer you a credit towards your next trip with us, which is now scheduled for April of next year. Thanks for the great time & fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2017

Always owning personal fishing and sailing boats, we never had taken the opportunity to enjoy a multiday fishing charter.
When our group arrived to the Emily Anne for our three day charter we were greeted by Capt. Jack, Capt. Dan and Kelly . I was impressed by the official documentation obtained by Kelly for safety notifications if needed in the event of an emergency. Official safety briefing, vessel orientation, weather briefing and Man overboard instructions. I knew we were in good hands of the crew and this turned out to be the exact case. As they had warned the weather was turning bad the last 12 hours of our adventure. Nearing the dinner hour of our second night, Capt. Jack communicated with Kelly back at home and she advised of seas building to 5-7ft and higher in the next 5 hours. We all agreed to cut the trip a little short for a more comfortable 5.5 hour home in oncoming seas. If this communication had not taken place it surely would have spoiled our fantastic and productive fishing adventure.

Yes as most other reviews here have stated these people know how to put you on quality fish. Many different species caught including African Pompanos . Jack and Dan are never afraid to share their extensive fishing knowledge and experiences.

Date of experience: May 2017
4  Thank rkkek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Water... C, Owner at Adventure Watersport Charters, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Rick,

So happy to hear as one of the new comers to this group's annual Dry Tortugas fishing trip with us that you thoroughly enjoyed your trip. Although safety is always first and foremost, our crew is always happy to share their knowledge and experience & to help in any way to make your adventure with us more fun and productive too! The weather unfortunately is always an uncontrollable factor when you're out in nature, but with ship to shore communication we have the information that we need when we need to make a decision, as we forced to do on your trip; and none too soon! All things considered you certainly had some relaxing camaraderie time with your friends, a great catch and one fantastic adventure. We know you and your family are already excited and are looking forward to doing a combination Dry Tortugas trip with us next year, as we are as well! Thanks again for a fantastic trip!
Captain(s) & Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Watersport Charters also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Adventure Watersport Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing