We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Government Shutdown”

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 174 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Government Shutdown”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

It's not the fault of Yankee Freedom but visting the national park was the sole purpose for our trip to Key West. The cruise and hotel were already paid for so we decided to go anyway. Luckily Yankee Freedom gave us a full refund.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,181
    534
    127
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The lights were out”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have visited Fort Jefferson and the Dry Tortugas many times but this last trip some clown in Washington had closed the fort...Unbelievable a 100+ year old fort survives but some kid in Washington shuts it down. When open, snorkeling here is great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BH-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Day Trip”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Enjoyed it but not for the beginner to snorkel. We really could have used more guidance in where beginner's should snorkel. The fort tour was nice and food was good. Great trip back and forth on the boat. If we go again, we'll take the plane.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling - boring fort”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Long, expensive trip out to the gorgeous Dry Tortugas. Nice boat with all the amenities helped. Great snorkeling around the fort but the fort itself is totally undeveloped. It is just the remaining structure with no history tours, video tours, photo ops. The fort was a huge disappointment. Slightly glad we went because it was always on our bucket list but would never go again. Park service is dropping the ball on this one. It could easily be upgraded to a wonderful trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank uneekware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unique and memorable day in the Tortugas”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Perhaps the best thing about traveling is seeing something the world has to offer that can't be found anywhere else. I think this may qualify...

First the bad... you're up very early on an island not intended for such. You will get sunburned most likely, despite your best preventative efforts. Odds are decent you'll get a jellyfish sting as well.

Buuut.... You rip through the tropics on a very fast boat. You'll see many sea turtles on the ride, some under the water, others splashing on the surface. The hulking fort on the horizon is quite a sight, and once you hear that the range of the cannons was three miles you can imagine how ominous and impregnable it might have felt to enemy ships. Enclosed in hexagon of 16 million bricks amidst the sea there is a sense of both beauty and desolation, tranquil oceanic calm and shipwrecked despair, at once Robinson Crusoe, post-exile Napolean, and Jacques Cousteau.

Those who lived there were dutiful souls. Indeed duty likely precluded a mindset suited to the place. And that is of appreciation of aesthete and simplicity. The shimmering of the schools, the diligence of the birds, the untrammeled night skies... life moves slow and rhythmically out there... largo. Alas we are but specks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EJAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing