We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fort Jefferson”

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worldly
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fort Jefferson”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a great trip/visit to the fort. The boat leaves early, 8am and returns about 530. Breakfast and lunch are provide on the boat and is very filling. No need to take extra food. Would suggest you take the tour on arrival at the fort & then go back to the boat for lunch. At lunch you could also pick up some extra water for the rest of the day. There is no food/drink available to buy at the fort. The tour is very well done by knowledgeable guides. If you have time, try a bit of snorkeling. You don't need to bring your own gear, it is all provided by the tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,083
    520
    122
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IT'S A MUST”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you have come all the way down to Key West, mind swell go a tad further and take a trip the Dry Tortugas National Park. You will not regret it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just go!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Since we visit Key West often, we have debated many times on taking the trip out to the Dry Tortugas. We finally made the trip and were so glad we did! It's not a cheap trip, but it's well worth it. The boat ride was long, but we were fed a good buffet breakfast almost immediately after leaving the port. A decent lunch buffet is served while you are on the island. You can eat on the boat or take your food to one of the picnic tables on the grounds. when you arrive, I highly recommend taking the guided tour because you'll get to hear some very interesting facts and information. You'll still have plenty of time to explore on your own or visit the beach. You'll get a beautiful view walking the top of the fort, and walking around the fort along the sea wall was incredible. I would recommend grabbing a table when you arrive to put your belongings on while you're on the tour or exploring on your own. There aren't many tables in the shade but there is one that we grabbed right off the dock. The return boat ride was fast and very windy for about an hour. We had 4-6 foot swells, but even with all that, I saw no one get sick. There were plenty of seats inside and out. This is definitely a "must go" trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travelstuff4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous time.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went with the Yankee Freedom cruise. Best time. Such a well organized trip. Everything was top notch. The island was amazing. The snorkeling was fun. The fort was awesome and the view of the island from on top of the fort was spectacular.

The staff was friendly, informative and helpful. No one got sick on the trip, but the weather was perfect. What a clean boat.

It was costly but definitely worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great day trip. I good buffet breakfast and lunch and an interesting tour of the fort. This is an interesting place and quite exclusive and remote. Snorkeling is good along the fort wall and good for beginners since you can walk out to the reef from the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philiarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing