We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time.”

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous time.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went with the Yankee Freedom cruise. Best time. Such a well organized trip. Everything was top notch. The island was amazing. The snorkeling was fun. The fort was awesome and the view of the island from on top of the fort was spectacular.

The staff was friendly, informative and helpful. No one got sick on the trip, but the weather was perfect. What a clean boat.

It was costly but definitely worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank onlinescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,083
    520
    122
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great day trip. I good buffet breakfast and lunch and an interesting tour of the fort. This is an interesting place and quite exclusive and remote. Snorkeling is good along the fort wall and good for beginners since you can walk out to the reef from the beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philiarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This excursion is a must! The fort is an amazing sight to see and the snorkeling is great as well. It was jellyfish season when we visited so I didn't want to go out in the water as far as I would have liked but a lot of other people still did. The boat ride was great as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amber9303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the $$$!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had to convince a few family members to do this on a recent trip to Key West. They thanked me! This was a great fun-filled day with history and snorkeling. Your day starts early with breakfast on the 2.5 hour trip to the Dry Tortugas. Our ship guide Michael was awesome. All of the crew (Captain Andy, Bob, Liz, etc) were super personable and very helpful. After arriving you are offered a guided tour of the fort or to go on your own. I would say follow a guide for the information and then go off on your own. There is terrific snorkeling around the Island. We saw many fish, coral, even stingrays! Lunch is provided on the boat. There is a bar open after 2 PM (National Park Rules). The food was good and fresh. This was an absolute FUN FUN day and I would certainly do it again. Rumors are that the park is on the list of National Parks to be closed---as such---GO while it's still open. You will not be disappointed!

PS--this is a long, full day 7-5.30. I would not recommend for children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptainTHEMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“A must do!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

First off if you take the Yankee Freedom out and your queasy at all take Dramamine!! Half the people on the boat-ride out got motion sickness including myself. When you get to the Island you will feel better once you see how beautiful the view is and take a walk around and check out all the old cannons and exotic fish swimming right around the walls of the fort. Overall a great experience and a must do if you are in the keys.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing