We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Tortugas National Park

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
$179*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 161 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The trip is worth the money. We stopped at cuban coffee queen for some iced coffee and made our way to the boat (they do have breakfast available on the ferry). The fairy is large and comfortable. We took the guided tour of the fort when we arrived, had lunch, and then spent the rest of our time snorkeling and on the beach. The water is gorgeous and the snorkeling was decent. The boat is available to you all day if you need restrooms or a break from the sun. Its expensive but I think it is a great day trip option while in Key West. We were back before 5pm, so you won't miss any evening activities.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,449
    434
    96
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

All the reviews are spot on, great once in a life time park. It's a tough to reach - we went by seaplane - but the fort, the water, the snorkeling is just too awesome for words

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Key West Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Book this marvelous trip to the Dry Tortugas/Ft Jefferson National Park when you know your travel dates. Beautiful ride out to the Park with breakfast provided, sit inside with great views, or use the outside decks for a closer look at the wildlife. We were glad to go aboard for lunch and cool off after our tour of Ft Jefferson. Snorkel equipment is provided for amateurs like us. People can bring their own too. Several beaches are available to swim and snorkel, changing rooms are near the dock if needed. We relaxed on the trip back to Key West, water and soft drinks are provided. Beer etc is available for purchase. The crew were all helpful and pleasant, an all-around wonderful experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dry Tortugas is a hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The all day excursion on the Yankee Freedom III is worth every penny. This is a must do! Snorkeling was like swimming in an aquarium! It's a great trip traveling over two hours off Key West to the fort in the middle of the ocean. The entire staff was very pleasant and helpful Throughly enjoyed the entire day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 879AmyB879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you get the chance you should go....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the Dry Tortugas in 2010 and really after several trips to Key West, saying we are going to do this next time, we finally did. Absolutely, a fabulous trip! Gorgeous setting, amazing history, more than you think to do, while you are there.
When we went the seaplanes had stopped flying, so we went by catamaran, it's a lengthy trip, but well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank red6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing