We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventure-filled Day”

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adventure-filled Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Get up early and catch the Yankee Freedom ferry (leaves Key West about 7:45 a.m. and returns at 5:30 p.m.) for the 2.5 hour trip to this almost deserted island. The island is dominated by the large fort/prison used before during and after the Civil War. There are guided ranger tours of the fort, but the self-guided tour using the brochure available on the boat is even better. After the tour, cool off by snorkeling in the beautiful waters around the island. We saw squid, lots of colorful fish and a 4-foot barracuda right in front of us. In the moat around the fort, a 6-foot salt water crocodile has taken up residence.
The ferry provides coffee, water, soft drinks, breakfast and lunch as part of your ticket. They also provide the snorkeling gear. All you need to bring is your swimsuit, a towel, a hat (not much shade is available) and your camera. If you are prone to sea sickness, take a Bonine tablet before the trip and you'll be fine. The large ferry's ride is pretty smooth and the boat itself is new and comfortable. A bonus if you are a nature lover and go in the summer is that 100,000 sooty terns nest on Bush Island right next to the national park. It is their only nesting place in the US and they are a sight to see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,030
    511
    122
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Another memorable national park experience. First getting to the island was well organized and pleasant offered by the Yankee Freedom III. The breakfast and lunch provided was tasty and filling. The teens even liked it. Oh, and the boat staff were very accommodating. Secondly the tour of Fort Jefferson was interesting and gives a new meaning to the word prison. Lastly the snorkeling was great, loved by our party of five. Would highly recommend this trip. Be aware they don't call it dry for nothing, bring ample sunscreen and a water bottle...the YF provides water and beverages.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcats2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“flying fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The flying fish on the way over were to cool, and the tour of fort Jefferson was awesome. First time snorkeling and it was fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HTees59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great trip! We love to snorkel and couldn't had a better place to do it. They served breakfast and lunch which both were good. On the way over we had a mini performance of an f-15 flyby! It was great! If you get a chance to do the trip you'll love it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jskn-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great little adventure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We flew on a seaplane to the island for the morning, which, for us, was plenty. We are not much for laying on a beach, soaking up cancer- and wrinkle-causing sun. The flight was were the extra cost, as opposed to taking the boat. We arrived earlier than the first boatload of tourists, so were able to enjoy seeing the fort, swimming and snorkeling long before the crowds arrived.
The fort was interesting. Our pilot and flight were fantastic. We could see sharks and sea turtles from the air.
The snorkeling was okay, not the best I've experienced. The water was crystal clear.
Definitely worth the expense!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing