We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the Fast Cat”

Dry Tortugas National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Dry Tortugas National Park Day Trip by Catamaran
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Liberty
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take the Fast Cat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great day of snorkeling and enjoying the park. We took the fast Cat out and left after the other main boat and got there at the same time. Lots of history and my group has lots of great memories and pictures.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank UTbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,030
    511
    122
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you have time, do NOT miss this day long adventure to our smallest national park. It leave early in the morning and is back at 5:30 and you get lunch and breakfast. It was such an unusual location and so histically interesting and after the great guided tour we were supplied with snorkel equipment to use at a fantastic beach (Beaches on Key West are not swim-worthy).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSturgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went over on a windy day so the boat ride was not much fun. We couldn't snorkel because the water was murky and it was so windy. The fort is very interesting and fun to walk around. Was so disappointed with the weather and wish we could have rescheduled. Very nice breakfast and lunch and the crew was great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day while in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A group of us took the boat to the Dry Tortugas, but if I did it again I'd take the seaplane. The ride out on the boat isn't bad, but the ride back is pretty boring. It's worth the extra $$ for the plane. If people in our group hadn't wanted to do the boat we would have flown.

You're served breakfast and lunch on the boat. Breakfast is kind of sparse. Ham, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, bagels, etc. Mostly carbs & protein. If you want an OJ for later, get it now since the food gets put away once breakfast is over and you'll have to pay for extras later. Lunch was much better, with chicken salad, cold cuts, chips, potato salad, PBJ and cookies offered. Again, if you want an extra soda or water for later, grab it before lunch hours are over. Otherwise you'll pay for anything extra.

Four hours at Fort Jefferson doesn't seem like a lot, but there's plenty of time to tour the fort, snorkel and have lunch. We were more than ready to leave when our time was up.

The fort was interesting, they offer a free guided tour that is recommended. After the tour you're free to roam around on your own.

Snorkeling wasn't very good while we were there, it was a bit windy so the clarity wasn't 100%. We still had fun, though.

The water is absolutely gorgeous at the Dry Tortugas, we took a lot of pictures with that clear turquoise water behind us.

It's definitely worth a trip if you have the time while in Key West, but I'd go on the plane for sure. It's worth the extra $$ to save time and get there a lot sooner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So cool!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful, fun and informative. While snorkeling we saw a huge baracuda and lots of fish. Boat ride over is beautiful. Only drawback is you are stuck there because it is in the middle of nowhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank antyfreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing