We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Old Town Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Simonton Court for four nights during the week of June 17, 2013. We stayed in the historic inn in the Orange Blossom room. This room was on the second floor, and it had a king-sized bed, couch, desk, chest, television, refrigerator, window air conditioner, closet, and safe, along with a bathroom with a double head shower. It also had a private sun deck, overlooking a swimming pool. The room was clean on check-in, and we received daily maid service – usually in the morning, while we were at breakfast. The bed was very comfortable, and we slept soundly. We enjoyed this room and its location in the inn. We could hear traffic sounds on Simonton Street from louder vehicles, but these sounds did not keep us awake or wake us up.
The grounds were very tropical, lush, and peaceful. The four swimming pools were open 24 hours, were very inviting, and seem to see continual usage as a main attraction of the inn. We enjoyed the main pool, a saltwater pool, and the pool adjoining the historic inn, a freshwater pool. These pools had sun and shade during the day, were heated to a comfortable temperature, were lighted at night, and had deep ends – five to six feet. We did not notice a problem with bugs during the day or at night.
The inn served breakfast each morning – coffee, juice, grapefruit, apples, oranges, bananas, yogurt, and boiled eggs, along with toasted bagels, waffles, and French toast – at a breakfast bar in a courtyard next to the main swimming pool. We were satisfied with the breakfast food and the service provided.
The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The desk clerks helped us with restaurant recommendations, bicycle rentals, taxis, and airline boarding passes on departure.
The clientele were cordial and included couples of all ages, ranging from younger honeymooning couples to older couples in their 60s and 70s, and in between. Some families had older teenagers with them. The inn was quiet at night. The grounds were secured after dark with a locked gate, opened with a cipher lock.
The inn was in a perfect location in Old Town Key West, one block from Duval Street and within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions. We visited the Hemmingway Home, the Lighthouse, the Little White House, the Butterfly Conservatory, and the Southernmost Point – all within easy walking distance of the inn. We do not recommend renting a car here.
We really enjoyed our stay and we will stay at Simonton Court when we visit Key West again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiistory-Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 696 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just one block off of Duval, you have all the convenience of being close to the action yet far enough for a quiet respite. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. We were given a tour of the grounds and shown to our room by Beth, whom also did the complimentary wine tasting that evening. She's great! There are 4 pools available for all hotel guests to use 24 hours a day, which is lovely. The grounds are lit up at night with lanterns and lights in the trees. It's very pretty. The breakfast is standard continental fare and pleasant to eat by the pool or on the mansion porch. Coffee is not in the room but is available during the breakfast, which begins at 8am. There are a few sweet kitty cats that will follow you around the property. The rooms and cottages each have their own unique style. Our room was Heather (SC6) in the main inn. Note that it's entrance is on the street. It was a little loud sometimes, but the white noise from the AC masked it well. The room was very clean with plenty of towels, hand and face cloths. There are two beds in the Heather room, one of which is a neat loft bed with a small stairway to get to it. There is also a fridge, microwave and 2-burner stovetop. A few glasses and cups are kept in the fridge to keep your drinks cold. Nice! The bathroom has a stall shower with plenty of hot water and pressure. We had absolutely NO need for a car and could walk to everything from this location. We even walked to the Southernmost Point marker and back! People have been freaked out by the web cams, but I thought they were cool. I was able to text family members to check out the web cam when I was at the black pool then wave hello to them! Would I stay here again? Without a doubt, ABSOLUTELY. I'm already looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Inn rooms on the side of Simonton St will be a little louder from street noise. The access gate to t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wphraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Simonton Court on June 4 and 5, 2013. We were thoroughly charmed by the grounds and the lovely environment of the little cottages. We stayed in the Honeysuckle Suite, which is a one-bedroom cottage. It had everything we needed, including a very comfortable bed, spacious shower, and a safe for locking up valuables. The grounds are tropical and lush, with palms, orchids, ferns and hibiscus. The hotel serves continental breakfast at the main pool every morning; the coffee was great. The offerings included yogurt, toasted bagels, fruit, boiled eggs, etc. Very adequate and served by a very thoughtful and attentive staff.

The hotel is just one block off Duval Street and pretty centrally located. There was not a problem with street noise at all. Very quiet. There are 4 pools, 3 which are nestled in little courtyards, so you can cool off right outside your door.
I am SO glad we stayed at the Simonton Court - it was the best part of our Key West visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have access to little private pool areas.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlking58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We came into town on a bit of a whim and didn't have anywhere to stay. We stopped at the Visitors Center and were lucky to meet a very helpful woman named Tara who called around to see about a last minute room, and showed us websites of different B&B's. The Simonton had a last minute availability, and offered it at a discount. We showed up and were blown away! They gave us a tour and showed us the room before asking us to commit to the reservation. We stayed in the Mansion on the 2nd floor overlooking the largest pool area. It was so quiet, you'd hardly know there was anyone else there. The room was clean, cool, and very nicely decorated. We thought we would just stay one night, but called after checking out and the staff was so nice to book us in the same room again, for the same rate. It's located just a block off of Duval, so easy to walk around there, as well as other parts of town. Free street parking was just a block away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SawtoothClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a great little inn. Each room or cottage is unique, very tastefully decorated and the property is lovely. The manager took the time to walk us around the property and show us numerous stay choices. We loved every one of them and would've been happy staying in all of them (and we have now stayed in 7 different units). The grounds are beautiful and you feel like you're in a secluded little hideaway but you're only a block off of Duval. So much within walking distance.

Reasonable rates, exceptional property run by a great staff. We can't wait for our next stay! Pet friendly too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Anthurium in early April for 6 nights. The grounds are very tropical and serene and the resident cats were friendly. The employees were very nice and helpful with tours and restaurants. The location was great (5 min. walk to Duval St.) but the rooms were not worth the $$$ we paid. There was no dining area as stated on their website, the carpet was a very rough, woven grasscloth that was hard to walk on barefoot, the bed was very hard and not comfy, the televisions (old tube type) and bathroom are in need of major upgrades/repairs, and we were less than 3 feet away from an alley way that was VERY noisy, especially when the garbage truck was stopped right outside our bedroom window at 4 am! When I looked out the window to see what it was, there was the driver of the garbage truck staring back at me!! Eeekk! One of our bedroom windows wouldn't lock - held shut with a nail (reported to office - nothing done) so security was an issue since the window faced the noisy alley (we had a room safe that we used all the time). A code is required to enter the grounds after 10 pm but late one night a couple that were NOT guests somehow found their way to the daybed by our pool and awakened guests with their loud lovemaking - the police came and took them away. So much for the security coded entry!! The continental breakfast got boring - frozen waffles and hard boiled eggs - so we chose to eat elsewhere the last few days. We didn't let these things ruin our vacation but for the high rates we paid, we expected a lot more. We probably would not stay here again because of the security issues and the condition of the rooms - there are many other places to stay in Key West that are better priced with just as many or more amenities.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose a room next to the alley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a beautiful place!!!

We stayed 2 nights - we arrived in Key West earlier than anticipated as we had a terrible experience with accommodation in Key Largo and left there after 1 night (I refrain from posting bad reviews unless they are really awful -- guess I will need to comment on the houseboats...). We had booked 2 nights at Westin for later in the week and if I could have cancelled these without losing the full cost I would happily have done so and stayed here longer.

A fabulous friendly welcome on arrival - with great tips on where to park free of charge locally (its a B & B - not a car park!!). A guided tour of the 4 pools and the sub tropical gardens before being shown to our room.... great start.

Lovely room on the ground floor (Bamboo room) next to a small pool (not our pool- but right outside our room which was handy). The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable furniture in the sitting area and a good sized separate bedroom. Could not be faulted. Some noise from upstairs as guests above moved around but that is to be expected in older properties and not an inconvenience.

Wonderful breakfast poolside each morning with friendly helpful staff.

Do yourself a favour and visit Simonton Court - if they have no vacancies - change your travel plans.... it is a wonderful "oasis", ideally situated with really great staff.

Thank you Terry and your team.... we will try to get back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages

Address: 320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $236 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted mansion & 1880's cigar makers' cottage & factory, situated amid lush foliage, in the heart of the historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonton Court Historic Inn And Cottages Hotel Key West
Simonton Court Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing