We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$248
$201
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$338
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$293
$269
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$239
The Marker
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$348
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$263
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)
$231
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Key Cottages(Key West)
$923
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveler rating
505
148
34
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
148
34
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmain poolcigar factorybagelsblack poolduval streeticed teagrounds are beautifulprivate poolcontinental breakfastan oasishard boiled eggseach morningtropical plantsthe location is perfectold key westfront porch
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 723 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the Anthurium in early April for 6 nights. The grounds are very tropical and serene and the resident cats were friendly. The employees were very nice and helpful with tours and restaurants. The location was great (5 min. walk to Duval St.) but the rooms were not worth the $$$ we paid. There was no dining area as stated on their website, the carpet was a very rough, woven grasscloth that was hard to walk on barefoot, the bed was very hard and not comfy, the televisions (old tube type) and bathroom are in need of major upgrades/repairs, and we were less than 3 feet away from an alley way that was VERY noisy, especially when the garbage truck was stopped right outside our bedroom window at 4 am! When I looked out the window to see what it was, there was the driver of the garbage truck staring back at me!! Eeekk! One of our bedroom windows wouldn't lock - held shut with a nail (reported to office - nothing done) so security was an issue since the window faced the noisy alley (we had a room safe that we used all the time). A code is required to enter the grounds after 10 pm but late one night a couple that were NOT guests somehow found their way to the daybed by our pool and awakened guests with their loud lovemaking - the police came and took them away. So much for the security coded entry!! The continental breakfast got boring - frozen waffles and hard boiled eggs - so we chose to eat elsewhere the last few days. We didn't let these things ruin our vacation but for the high rates we paid, we expected a lot more. We probably would not stay here again because of the security issues and the condition of the rooms - there are many other places to stay in Key West that are better priced with just as many or more amenities.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose a room next to the alley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a beautiful place!!!

We stayed 2 nights - we arrived in Key West earlier than anticipated as we had a terrible experience with accommodation in Key Largo and left there after 1 night (I refrain from posting bad reviews unless they are really awful -- guess I will need to comment on the houseboats...). We had booked 2 nights at Westin for later in the week and if I could have cancelled these without losing the full cost I would happily have done so and stayed here longer.

A fabulous friendly welcome on arrival - with great tips on where to park free of charge locally (its a B & B - not a car park!!). A guided tour of the 4 pools and the sub tropical gardens before being shown to our room.... great start.

Lovely room on the ground floor (Bamboo room) next to a small pool (not our pool- but right outside our room which was handy). The room was spotlessly clean with comfortable furniture in the sitting area and a good sized separate bedroom. Could not be faulted. Some noise from upstairs as guests above moved around but that is to be expected in older properties and not an inconvenience.

Wonderful breakfast poolside each morning with friendly helpful staff.

Do yourself a favour and visit Simonton Court - if they have no vacancies - change your travel plans.... it is a wonderful "oasis", ideally situated with really great staff.

Thank you Terry and your team.... we will try to get back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent two nights at Simonton in the Gardenia cottage, big enough for 4 though the loft beds were under a very sloping ceiling, still worked fine. The third couple had a small room that had a bug problem the first night, they were moved and comped. The office staff was great, helped with reservations before we arrived and made good suggestions while there. We didn't leave till late on our last day, we were able to leave our luggage in the office, use the pool, and shower before we left, very nice! The landscaping is lush and the porches on front of the cottages are inviting. Breakfast was fine, bagels, toaster waffles and French toast, yogurt, fruit. Coffee, iced tea and bottled water available day and night. Cleaning staff in and out quickly and very efficient. Be sure to look closely at the rooms on the website. Every room is different. This is not a fancy place, just a very comfortable, well situated, quiet, and accommodating Key West compound. We'll return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purl22Knit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we could have stayed 2 nights... Rates on week-ends are too expensive for my wallet... However, this hotel is really well located in the old district, 5 minutes walk to Duval street, and to a harbor for boat trips for diving or snorkeling. Our room (mimosa so called) under the roof,was very typical and rather romantic. I recommend that room. Anyway, a perfect place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arny06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at the Simonton Court in early April with a group of about 14 folks. We were lucky enough to secure three cabins, Nos. 1, 3 and 5, so that all of us were in the same area. Everyone thought the cabins were very nicely appointed and spacious with a full kitchen and loft with two beds. The hotel is situated two blocks away from Duval Street, so getting to the hustle and bustle of Key West is no problem, but at the same time, it is sufficiently encapsulated in its own compound that you would never hear any noises or distractions. Although we did not use the pools, several of the guests used the pools and looked like they were having an enjoyable time. This is not a place for Spring Breakers, but with a civilized group, you could easily use the Simonton Court as a base of operations.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the cabins with a second bedroom attached. Our room, cottage No. 5, had an outdoor shower as well.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews