We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at Simonton Court. We love the location and the grounds. It is very cozy and inviting. The nighttime candle lanterns really add something. The pools and patios are great. However, biggest problem is TERRIBLE Internet connection or no connection at all. When we travel (which is often) we need an hour or 2 per day online for some work. We have to remain connected. There is no reliable connection in this complex. It baffles me. Large hotels with 1,000 rooms can have reliable Internet, why not Simonton Court? Also our last room did not have any windows that opened. We leave the cold north for the warm breezes of Key West several times in the winter. We want to open the windows and not use AC. Couldn't do that this time. Really bummed us out. So, next month we will check out an alternative. Even though we generally like the hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MattFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry S, General Manager at Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Simonton Court! As you know from your visits, our property has a very unique layout with a variety of accommodations nestled amongst dense tropical foliage. Our historic buildings are built of solid wood and concrete, so wireless signals do not pass through them as easily as modern construction. Complete wireless coverage has thus been a challenge, so we have recently purchased very robust outdoor WiFi equipment that emits stronger signals that will reliably penetrate every corner of our garden oasis. We have been assured by our chosen vendor that this solution is complete overkill for our property and is intended for a property five times our size. We opted for the more expensive package because our guest experience is of the utmost importance to us. I will post an announcement on TripAdvisor when the upgrades are complete!
Regarding your windows, we have great variety in our accommodations which allows us to offer each guest the comforts they prefer. That being said, in lieu of seeking options elsewhere, call us regarding your next stay in Key West and ask for me directly. I will do everything in my power to eliminate the “almost” from your perfect stay!
Best Wishes,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    128
    30
    18
    14
See reviews for
42
392
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Simonton Court is a great location - easy walking to restaurants and Mallory Square. The hotel is like a little oasis in the middle of Old Towne. The only complaint is room cleanliness and it looks like they are a bit behind on general maintenance like painting.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Manor House, which was great having a pool outside your door. However, it is right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My spouse and I recently stayed for my 50th. Last minute idea. By last minute, I mean 2 month in advance and we got the last room available for the end of February. I loved this hotel! As others have indicated it is closed to Duval, yet far enough away to be quite. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Made up of several buildings, from the street entrance appears to be an historic home, but then enter the gate to what seems to be a side yard and you enter into an oasis of cottages, plantings, and many small pools tucked away through out the property. We were in the historic inn in the impatients room. The room faced simonton street and was not located back in the 'court'. And it was perfect. We enjoyed a front porch and people watching and then could walk around the corner and enjoy a pool or breakfast in the 'oasis'. It was truly wonderful. The staff was so nice. We had bikes delivered and spent 2 days just riding bikes all over the island. There is a area to store rented bikes. The room was clean, modern and very comfortable. I hope we can spend time again next year at Simonton court.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DobyCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location, Half block from action yet amazingly quiet. Would have enjoyed the pools more if the weather cooperated, but did get to explore more bars. Breakfast served poolside with bagels and fresh fruit hit the spot after long days of bar hopping.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This beautiful property is located right in the heart of old town, near all the action on Duval Street, yet set apart by its peace and serenity. The lush tropical landscaping and multiple pools offer choices for reading and quiet activity, as do the porches of the quaint cottages. Breakfast is leisurely and sets the pace for the day. We stayed in a cottage and ventured out daily for activities and restaurants, based on staff recommendations. This is definitely a place to return to year after year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages for Valentine's Day. We had a great time. The rooms were very clean and I used my Hotel Inspector UV Stain Finder to check the cleanliness of the room. It passed my inspection! Romantic and clean getaway! I will return to the Simonton Court. Beautiful grounds and staff!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Level Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Simonton with a group from our Yacht Club. It was the perfect place to stay and gather since there were lots of chairs and table by the pool where we could all meet up.
The property is gorgeous with tropical foliage and beautiful flowers. The mail pool was well maintained and a perfect escape from the busy town. We stayed in the Mimosa room. It was very cute, well maintained, with a larger bathroom and a nice little balcony facing the pool. It was perfect for our short stay. The only downside, was the thrud floor location and all of the stairs.
Breakfast was served at 8:30 each morning and everything was wonderful. The staff was friendly and would bring bagels to your table and clear everything once you were finished. The staff was also very helpful in helping to plan outings and make reservatons. They sell discount trolly tickets and make wonderful recommendations. I cant wait to come back and stay again. The rooms are so unique, I cant decide which one to stay in next! And the friendly cats on site were also a nice addition.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages

Property: Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Address: 320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6869
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted mansion & 1880's cigar makers' cottage & factory, situated amid lush foliage, in the heart of the historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonton Court Historic Inn And Cottages Hotel Key West
Simonton Court Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing